Biomedical Research Education Programs

MSC08-4560
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:
UNM Health Sciences Center (North Campus) Reginald Heber Fitz Hall (Building 211)
Room B61

Phone: (505) 272-1887
Fax: 505-272-8738

ASERT-IRACDA Education Mentors

Please click on each section to view our past research mentors.

Central New Mexico Community College (CNM)

Corrie Andries, M.S.
Botany, Microbiology
Former ASERT Fellow: Sergio DeHaro
(505)224-3507x1917
CAndries@cnm.edu

Leah Freeman, Ph.D.
Biology
Former ASERT Fellow: Russ Morton
(505)224-5032
lpulling@cnm.edu

Susan Johnson, M.S.
Biology, Anatomy and Physiology
(505)224-3510
(505)224-3636 x1920

sjohnson@cnm.edu

Terri Koontz, M.S.
Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology for Health Science Majors
(505)903-4142
tkoontz@cnm.edu

Philip Lister, Ph.D.
Biology
Former ASERT Fellow: Brian Gray
plister@cnm.edu

Mary Martinez, M.S.
Nutrition
(505)224-3636 x1865
mamartinez@cnm.edu

Colleen McNamara, Ph.D.
Microbiology, Pathophysiology
Former ASERT Fellow: Sabrina Samudio-Ruiz
(505)224-3511
(505)224-3636 x1922

cmcnamara@cnm.edu

Charlotte Mobarak, Ph.D.
Biology
(505)224-3000
cmobarak@cnm.edu

Karen Riley, Ph.D.
Cell and Developmental Biology
ASERT Fellow: Danielle Protas
(505)224-3636 x2019
Kstrunk@cnm.edu

Brian Sailer, Ph.D.
Biology, Anatomy and Physiology
(505)224-3636 x1892
bsailer@cnm.edu

Clarissa Sorensen-Unruh, M.S.
Chemistry/Biochemistry
Former ASERT Fellows: Jayne M. Christen and Robert Taylor
(505) 224-4000 (ext. 50078)
csorensen@cnm.edu; csoren1@unm.edu

Patricia Wilber, Ph.D.
(505)224-3517
(505)224-3636 x1907

pwilber@cnm.edu

Shawn Wright, M.S.
Math, Science and Engineering (Biology) 
ASERT Fellows: Lindsey Long and Erica Dashner
swright@cnm.edu

New Mexico State University (NMSU)

Karen Mabry, Ph.D.
Behavioral Landscape Ecology
Former ASERT Fellow: John Hammond
https://sites.google.com/site/mabrylab/

Michelle Nishiguchi, Ph.D.
Evolution and Marine Symbiosis
Former ASERT Fellow: Alba Chavez
http://biology-web.nmsu.edu/~nish/

Michele Shuster, Ph.D.
Microbiology, Cancer Biology
Current ASERT Fellow: Vanessa De La Rosa
Former ASERT Fellow: Salina Torres and Gloriana Trujillo
http://bio.nmsu.edu/mshuster

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute (SIPI)

William Adams, M.S.
College chemistry course and labs
Former ASERT Fellow:  Olivia George, Summer Raines, Salina Torres and Gloriana Trujillo
William.adams@bie.edu

William Schaedla, Ph.D.
Environmental Science
ASERT Fellow: Joseph Hoover
(505) 792-4556
william.schaedla@bie.edu

Angeline Sells, M.S.
Natural Resources program; plant biology, ecology, wildlife biology, soil science
Angeline.sells@bie.edu

Nader Vadiee, Ph.D.
Engineering and Engineering Technology Program; biomedical and bioengineering devices, biosensors, biologically-inspired robot design.
ASERT Fellows: Rubi Figueroa-Teran, Martha Grimes
Former ASERT Fellow: Olivia George,  Jennifer Pascal, Summer Raines, Salina Torres and Gloriana Trujillo
(505)792-4618
nader.vadiee@bie.edu