Biografie

Dr. Sara GM Piccirillo ist Assistenzprofessorin am Department of Cell Biology & Physiology am Health Sciences Center der University of New Mexico (UNM) und ordentliches Mitglied des UNM Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Dr. Piccirillo schloss 2003 sein Studium der Medizinischen Biotechnologie an der Universität Mailand (Italien) ab und promovierte zum Dr. in Translationale und Molekulare Medizin im Jahr 2008 an der Universität Mailand-Bicocca.

Für ihre Postdoc-Ausbildung erhielt Dr. Piccirillo 2010 ein Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship und arbeitete als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Department of Clinical Neurosciences der Cambridge University (UK). Im Februar 2011 wurde sie als Research Fellow an Hughes Hall, einem der 31 Colleges in Cambridge, gewählt. Im Jahr 2013 begann Dr. Piccirillo eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Southwestern Medical Center der University of Texas in Dallas (USA) und besuchte die Institution zwischen 2014-2016 als Visiting Senior Scientist.

2016 wurde Dr. Piccirillo als Fakultätsmitglied für Innere Medizin an das UT Southwestern Medical Center berufen und 2018 zur Research Assistant Professor an derselben Institution befördert. 2019 wechselte Dr. Piccirillo als Tenure-Track-Assistenzprofessor an das Health Sciences Center der University of New Mexico.

Persönliche Äußerung

Meine Forschung in den letzten achtzehn Jahren konzentrierte sich hauptsächlich auf die Beziehung zwischen dem Genotyp und dem Phänotyp der sogenannten "krebsstammähnlichen Zellen" beim aggressivsten Hirntumor bei Erwachsenen, dem Glioblastom (GBM). Während meiner Promotion an der Universität Mailand-Bicocca (Italien) konzentrierte sich meine Arbeit auf wichtige regulatorische Stammzellmechanismen der Selbsterneuerung und Differenzierung, die von Tumorzellen gekapert werden. Konkret haben wir einen neuen therapeutischen Ansatz basierend auf der Induktion der Differenzierung in GBM-Zellen identifiziert und die in vivo Wirksamkeit einer Pro-Differenzierungstherapie unter Verwendung von Patienten-abgeleiteten Xenograft-Modellen (Piccirillo SG et al., Natur 2006). Diese Arbeit führte zu einer Patentanmeldung und zur Entwicklung eines differenzierenden Therapeutikums, das 2020 die klinische Phase-I-Studie abgeschlossen hat.

Meine Forschung trug auch dazu bei, aufzudecken, dass phänotypisch und genetisch unterschiedliche Krebsstammzellen im selben GBM koexistieren (Piccirillo SG et al., Onkogen 2009) und in Bereichen mit Resterkrankung wie dem Tumorrand (Piccirillo SG et al., Br J Krebs 2012) und der subventrikulären Zone der Seitenventrikel (Piccirillo SG et al., Krebsforschung 2015). Krebsstammähnliche Zellen aus diesen Bereichen tragen zu patientenspezifischen evolutionären Trajektorien des GBM-Wachstums bei und säen den rezidivierenden Tumor aus, der bei GBM-Patienten unvermeidlich ist (Spiteri I., et al., Annals of Oncology 2019).

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt meines Labors ist die Analyse der funktionellen Konsequenzen der umfangreichen genetischen und phänotypischen Heterogenität von GBM. Insbesondere sind wir daran interessiert, den Einfluss der intratumoralen Heterogenität auf die Therapieresistenz und das Tumorwachstum nach der Behandlung zu untersuchen. Wir integrieren genomische Messungen mit der phänotypischen Analyse von Krebsstammzellen und nutzen diese Informationen, um mechanistische Einblicke in die Entwicklung therapeutischer Resistenzen zu gewinnen.

Fachgebiete

Hirntumore
Neurale Stammzellen
Krebsgenomik

Erfolge & Auszeichnungen

2021 - Die Robert M. Faxon Jr. Stiftungsprofessur für Neuroonkologie

2021 – Translational Adult Glioma Award, The Ben and Catherine Ivy Foundation

2021 - AACR-Novocure Tumor Treating Fields Independent Investigator Research Grant, American Association for Cancer Research und Novocure

2019 - Gianni Bonadonna Prize for New Drug Development in Oncology, Gianni Bonadonna Foundation und Prada Group

2017 – DocStars Award, The Cary Council – Southwestern Medical Foundation

2016 - New Investigator Research Award, Cancer Research UK zur Unterstützung des Kooperationsprojekts mit dem UT Southwestern Medical Center

2014 - Master of Arts (ehrenamtlich), University of Cambridge, UK

2011-2016 - Forschungsstipendium am Hughes Hall College, Cambridge, UK

2011-2013 - Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship for Career Development, Europäische Kommission

2010 - Young Investigator Award, British Neuro-Oncology Society and Brain Tumor Research, UK

2007 - Bester junger italienischer Forscher, Premio Sapio Award

Wichtige Veröffentlichungen

Journal Article
Piccirillo, Sara, Reynolds, B, A Zanetti, N, Lamorte, G, Binda, E, Broggi, G, Brem, H, Olivi, A, Dimeco, F, Vescovi, A, L 2006 Knochenmorphogenetische Proteine ​​hemmen das tumorerzeugende Potenzial von menschlichen Hirntumor-initiierenden Zellen. Natur, 444, 7120, 761-5
Journal Article
Spiteri, I, Caravagna, G, Cresswell, G, D Vatsiou, A, Nichol, D, Acar, A, Ermini, L, Chkhaidze, K, Werner, B, Mair, R, Brognaro, E, Verhaak RGW, , Sanguinetti , G, Piccirillo SGM, , Watts, C, Sottoriva, A, 2019 Evolutionäre Dynamik der Resterkrankung beim menschlichen Glioblastom. Annals of Oncology : offizielles Journal der European Society for Medical Oncology, 30, 3, 456-463

Geschlecht

Female

Sprachen

  • Englisch
  • Italienisch
  • Deutsch

Forschung und Stipendium

AUSGEWÄHLTE PUBLIKATIONEN:

1. Piccirillo SG, Reynolds BA, Zanetti N., Lamorte G., Binda E., Broggi G., Brem H., Olivi A., Dimeco F., Vescovi AL (2006). Knochenmorphogenetische Proteine ​​hemmen das tumorerzeugende Potenzial von menschlichen Hirntumor-initiierenden Zellen. Natur, 444 (7120), 761-765.

2. Piccirillo SG, Combi R., Cajola L., Patrizi A., Redaelli S., Bentivegna A., Baronchelli S., Maira G., Pollo B., Mangiola A., DiMeco F., Dalprà L., Vescovi AL (2009) . Innerhalb menschlicher Glioblastome koexistieren unterschiedliche Pools von Krebsstamm-ähnlichen Zellen und weisen unterschiedliche Tumorgenität und unabhängige Genomentwicklung auf. Onkogen, 28 (15), 1807-1811.

3. Piccirillo SGM, Colman S., Potter NE, van Delft FW, Lillis S., Carnicer MJ, Kearney L., Watts C., Greaves M. (2015). Genetische und funktionelle Vielfalt sich vermehrender Zellen beim Glioblastom. Stammzellberichte, 4 (1), 7-15.

4. Piccirillo SGª, Spiteri I., Sottoriva A., Touloumis A., Ber S., Price SJ, Heywood R., Francis NJ, Howarth KD, Collins VP, Venkitaraman AR, Curtis C., Marioni JC, Tavaré S., Watts C .ª (2015). Beiträge zur Arzneimittelresistenz beim Glioblastom, die von malignen Zellen in der subependymalen Zone stammen. Cancer Res, 75 (1), 194-202. (ªco-korrespondierender Autor)

5. Spiteri I., Caravagna G., Cresswell GD, Vatsiou A., Nichol D., Acar A., ​​Ermini L., Chkhaidze K., Werner B., Mair R., Brognaro E., Verhaak RGW, Sanguinetti G ., Piccirillo SGM*, Watts C.*, Sottoriva A.* (2019). Evolutionäre Dynamik der Resterkrankung beim menschlichen Glioblastom. Ann Oncol, 30 (3), 456-463. (*Co-Senior und Co-korrespondierender Autor)

Biography

Dr. Sara G.M. Piccirillo is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Cell Biology & Physiology at the University of New Mexico (UNM) Health Sciences Center and a Full Member of the UNM Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Dr. Piccirillo graduated at the University of Milan (Italy) in Medical Biotechnology in 2003 and gained a Ph.D. in Translational and Molecular Medicine in 2008 at the University of Milan-Bicocca.

For her post-doctoral training, Dr. Piccirillo was awarded a Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship in 2010 and worked as a Research Associate in the Department of Clinical Neurosciences of Cambridge University (UK). In February 2011, she was elected as a Research Fellow of Hughes Hall, one of the 31 colleges in Cambridge. In 2013, Dr. Piccirillo started a collaboration with the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas (USA) and visited the institution between 2014-2016 as Visiting Senior Scientist.

In 2016, Dr. Piccirillo was recruited to UT Southwestern Medical Center as Faculty Member of Internal Medicine and in 2018 she was promoted to Research Assistant Professor at the same institution. In 2019, Dr. Piccirillo joined the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center as a Tenure-Track Assistant Professor.

Personal Statement

My research over the past eighteen years has had a major focus on the relationship between the genotype and the phenotype of the so-called 'cancer stem-like cells' in the most aggressive brain tumor in adults, i.e. glioblastoma (GBM). During my Ph.D. at the University of Milan-Bicocca (Italy), my work focused on key regulatory stem cell mechanisms of self-renewal and differentiation that are hijacked by tumor cells. Specifically, we identified a new therapeutic approach based on the induction of differentiation in GBM cells and determined the in vivo efficacy of a pro-differentiation therapy using patient-derived xenograft models (Piccirillo S.G. et al., Nature 2006). This work led to a patent application and to the development of a pro-differentiating therapeutic agent that has completed Phase I clinical trial in 2020.

My research also contributed to reveal that phenotypically and genetically distinct cancer stem-like cells coexist in the same GBM (Piccirillo S.G. et al., Oncogene 2009) and in areas of residual disease such as the tumor margin (Piccirillo S.G. et al., Br J Cancer 2012) and the sub-ventricular zone of the lateral ventricles (Piccirillo S.G. et al., Cancer Research 2015). Cancer stem-like cells from these areas contribute to patient-specific evolutionary trajectories of GBM growth and seed the recurrent tumor that is inevitable in GBM patients (Spiteri I., et al., Annals of Oncology 2019).

The research focus of my laboratory is the analysis of the functional consequences of the extensive genetic and phenotypic heterogeneity of GBM. Specifically, we are interested in investigating the impact of intra-tumor heterogeneity on therapeutic resistance and tumor growth after treatment. We integrate genomic measurements with the phenotypic analysis of cancer stem-like cells and use this information to gain mechanistic insights into the development of therapeutic resistance.

Areas of Specialty

Brain tumors
Neural stem cells
Cancer genomics

Achievements & Awards

2021 - The Robert M. Faxon Jr. Endowed Professorship in Neuro-Oncology

2021 - Translational Adult Glioma Award, The Ben and Catherine Ivy Foundation

2021 - AACR-Novocure Tumor Treating Fields Independent Investigator Research Grant, American Association for Cancer Research and Novocure

2019 - Gianni Bonadonna Prize for New Drug Development in Oncology, Gianni Bonadonna Foundation and Prada Group

2017 - DocStars Award, The Cary Council - Southwestern Medical Foundation

2016 - New Investigator Research Award, Cancer Research UK to support the collaborative project with UT Southwestern Medical Center

2014 - Master of Arts (Honorary), University of Cambridge, UK

2011-2016 - Research Fellowship at Hughes Hall College, Cambridge, UK

2011-2013 - Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship for Career Development, European Commission

2010 - Young Investigator Award, British Neuro-Oncology Society and Brain Tumour Research, UK

2007 - Best Young Italian Researcher, Premio Sapio Award

Key Publications

Journal Article
Piccirillo, Sara, Reynolds, B, A Zanetti, N, Lamorte, G, Binda, E, Broggi, G, Brem, H, Olivi, A, Dimeco, F, Vescovi, A, L 2006 Bone morphogenetic proteins inhibit the tumorigenic potential of human brain tumour-initiating cells. Nature, 444, 7120, 761-5
Journal Article
Spiteri, I, Caravagna, G, Cresswell, G, D Vatsiou, A, Nichol, D, Acar, A, Ermini, L, Chkhaidze, K, Werner, B, Mair, R, Brognaro, E, Verhaak RGW, , Sanguinetti, G, Piccirillo SGM, , Watts, C, Sottoriva, A, 2019 Evolutionary dynamics of residual disease in human glioblastoma. Annals of oncology : official journal of the European Society for Medical Oncology, 30, 3, 456-463

Gender

Female

Languages

  • English
  • Italian
  • German

Research and Scholarship

SELECTED PUBLICATIONS:

1. Piccirillo S.G., Reynolds B.A., Zanetti N., Lamorte G., Binda E., Broggi G., Brem H., Olivi A., Dimeco F., Vescovi A.L. (2006). Bone morphogenetic proteins inhibit the tumorigenic potential of human brain tumour-initiating cells. Nature, 444 (7120), 761-765.

2. Piccirillo S.G., Combi R., Cajola L., Patrizi A., Redaelli S., Bentivegna A., Baronchelli S., Maira G., Pollo B., Mangiola A., DiMeco F., Dalprà L., Vescovi A.L. (2009). Distinct pools of cancer stem-like cells coexist within human glioblastomas and display different tumorigenicity and independent genomic evolution. Oncogene, 28 (15), 1807-1811.

3. Piccirillo S.G.M., Colman S., Potter N.E., van Delft F.W., Lillis S., Carnicer M.J., Kearney L., Watts C., Greaves M. (2015). Genetic and functional diversity of propagating cells in glioblastoma. Stem Cell Reports, 4 (1), 7-15.

4. Piccirillo S.G.ª, Spiteri I., Sottoriva A., Touloumis A., Ber S., Price S.J., Heywood R., Francis N.J., Howarth K.D., Collins V.P., Venkitaraman A.R., Curtis C., Marioni J.C., Tavaré S., Watts C.ª (2015). Contributions to drug resistance in glioblastoma derived from malignant cells in the sub-ependymal zone. Cancer Res, 75 (1), 194-202. (ªco-corresponding author)

5. Spiteri I., Caravagna G., Cresswell G.D., Vatsiou A., Nichol D., Acar A., Ermini L., Chkhaidze K., Werner B., Mair R., Brognaro E., Verhaak R.G.W., Sanguinetti G., Piccirillo S.G.M.*, Watts C.*, Sottoriva A.* (2019). Evolutionary dynamics of residual disease in human glioblastoma. Ann Oncol, 30 (3), 456-463. (*co-senior and co-corresponding author)