Chronic Pain and Opioid Management

Every Thursday, from 12:00pm-1:30pm (MT). For more information contact us at: painECHO@salud.unm.edu.

Program Description

The goal of this program is to provide comprehensive pain education to healthcare professionals, including pain assessment, non-pharmacological, pharmacological and interventional approaches, and addiction and overdose prevention.

A multidisciplinary team comprised of physicians, addiction medicine and behavioral health providers, chiropractors, and physical therapists models a team approach to pain assessment and management. Sessions are devoted to evidence-based approaches to pain management, and include a didactic and one to two case presentations. As time permits, the team offers "curbside consultations" for participants' pressing questions.

Target Audience

Physicians, advanced practice providers, psychologists, counselors, social workers, pharmacists, physical therapists, acupuncturists, chiropractors, and nurses.

Resources

Program Team

 

George Comerci, Jr., MD, FACP
Medical Director
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
University of New Mexico
GComerci@salud.unm.edu

Radhika Grandhe, MBBS, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
University of New Mexico
RGrandhe@salud.unm.edu

Joanna Katzman, MD, MPSH
Sr. Associate Director of Project ECHO
Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
JKatzman@salud.unm.edu

Snehal Bhatt, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Division Chief, Addiction Psychiatry
University of New Mexico
SBhatt@salud.unm.edu

 

 

Tom Arnold, DC, APC, DAAMLP
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
University of New Mexico
ETArnold@salud.unm.edu

Meg Shuttleworth, LMHC, PhD
Counselor/Social Worker, Department of Neurosurgery
University of New Mexico
MShuttleworth@salud.unm.edu

Sue Whipple, BA
ECHO Institute, TeleECHO Program Coordinator
painecho@salud.unm.edu