CDC Foundation Logo  Clinton health logo united logo

Advanced HIV Disease Series

Hosted by the CDC Mycotic Diseases Branch and the Clinton Health Access Initiative (CHAI) and Unitaid. 

Monthly, every second Wednesday

Register

9:30-11:00 a.m. ET; 7:30-9:00 a.m. MT; 2:30-4:00 p.m. GMT; 3:30-5:00 p.m. WAT; 4:30- 6:00 p.m. CAT/SAST; 5:30-7:00 p.m. EAT

French translation is available.   

Starting in April 2020, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Mycotic Diseases Branch hosted a series of 7 webinars on Advanced HIV Care in the context of COVID-19 supported by the CDC Foundation. Sessions addressed a global audience of healthcare providers and those working in public health and lasted until July 2020. 

In November 2020, CDC, CHAI and Unitaid relaunched the Global AHD series in collaboration, with the following objectives:

  • Evidence driven advocacy targeted at Ministry of Health decision makers, academics, donors and implementing partners to prioritize continued AHD programming and service delivery in the time of COVID-19
  • Contribute to training and continuing medical education for AHD during the pandemic
  • Provide key AHD updates to continue to support field implementation

Sessions in this series include:

  • AHD screening in the out-patient setting
  • STOP-AIDS: Addressing pediatric Advanced HIV Disease
  • Decentralization of AHD: referral and linkage for AHD service
  • Histoplasmosis: A neglected killer
  • Short course TPT regimens: research, policy updates and implementation experiences
  • Severe bacterial infections in AHD
  • Cryptococcal meningitis case management (AMBITION updates)
  • Future of AHD management: research and product pipeline update
  • Severe bacterial infections in AHD

Organizers of this series: Amir Shroufi (CDC Foundation), Tom Chiller (CDC), Alexander Jordan (CDC), Ikechukwu Amamilo (CHAI), Richard Borain (CHAI), Alaina Altamura (CHAI)

For more information please contact Amir Shroufi (CDC Foundation)  or  Ikechukwu Amamilo (CHAI) .

Session Archive