Übersetzen

Biografie

Dr. Jernigan ist Gefäßphysiologe. Sie erhielt ihren Ph.D. von der University of New Mexico School of Medicine und absolvierte ihre Postdoc-Ausbildung am Center for Cardiovascular-Renal Research des University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, Mississippi. Ihr Forschungsprogramm konzentriert sich auf das Verständnis der Signalmechanismen, die zu Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen führen.

Fachgebiete

  • Kardiovaskuläre Physiologie
  • Pulmonale Hypertonie

Erfolge & Auszeichnungen

Dr. Jernigan hat ein sehr erfolgreiches NIH-finanziertes Forschungsprogramm aufgebaut, das mit mehreren Forschungs- und Bildungspreisen, Einladungen zu internationalen Symposien, Herausgeber von einflussreichen Zeitschriften, Service für NIH, VA und American Heart Association (AHA) ausgezeichnet wurde. Studienabschnitte ein.

Wichtige Veröffentlichungen

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/myncbi/nikki.jernigan.1/bibliography/public

Geschlecht

Weiblich

Sprachen

  • Englisch

Forschung

Das Forschungsprogramm von Dr. Jernigan konzentriert sich auf eine einzigartige Klasse von spannungsunempfindlichen, nicht selektiven Kationenkanälen, die als Säure-sensierende Ionenkanäle (ASIC) bezeichnet werden. Ihr Labor identifizierte eine einzigartige Rolle von ASIC1 bei der Entwicklung von Hypoxie pulmonaler Hypertonie, die ein progressives und oft tödliches Ergebnis chronischer Lungenerkrankungen ist (4. häufigste Todesursache in den USA). Genauer gesagt untersucht ihr Labor den Beitrag von ASIC1 zur metabolisch-mitochondrialen Dysfunktion bei pulmonaler Hypertonie. Darüber hinaus steht ihre Arbeit an vorderster Front bei der Bestimmung der Beteiligung von ASIC1 am systemischen hypertensiven Kreislauf und seiner Assoziation mit Alterung und Diabetes. Die Ergebnisse dieser Forschung werden ein grundlegendes Verständnis von ASIC1 bei Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen ermöglichen, was eine weitere Bewertung des therapeutischen Potenzials von ASIC1 ermöglicht.

Lehrveranstaltungen

  • Diplom Physiologie
  • Fortgeschrittene Physiologie
  • Ionenkanäle

Nikki L. Jernigan, PhD

Biography

Dr. Jernigan is a vascular physiologist. She received her Ph.D. from the University of New Mexico School of Medicine and did her post-doctoral training at the Center for Cardiovascular-Renal Research at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, Mississippi. Her research program focuses on understanding the signaling mechanisms leading to cardiovascular disease.

Areas of Specialty

  • Cardiovascular Physiology
  • Pulmonary Hypertension

Achievements & Awards

Dr. Jernigan has built a highly successful NIH-funded research program that has been recognized by multiple research and education awards, invitations to give international symposia, editorship of high-impact journals, service on NIH, VA, and American Heart Association (AHA) study sections.

Key Publications

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/myncbi/nikki.jernigan.1/bibliography/public

Gender

Female

Languages

English

Research

Dr. Jernigan’s research program focuses on a unique class of voltage-insensitive, non-selective cation channels called acid-sensing ion channels (ASIC). Her laboratory identified a unique role for ASIC1 to contribute to the development of hypoxia pulmonary hypertension, which is a progressive and often fatal outcome of chronic lung diseases (4th leading cause of death in the US). More specifically, her lab examines the contribution of ASIC1 to the metabolic-mitochondrial dysfunction in pulmonary hypertension. In addition, her work is at the forefront of determining the involvement of ASIC1 in the systemic hypertensive circulation and its association with aging and diabetes. The outcomes of this research will enable a fundamental understanding of ASIC1 in cardiovascular disease which will permit further evaluation of the therapeutic potential of ASIC1.

Courses Taught

  • Graduate Physiology
  • Advanced Physiology
  • Ion Channels