اللغة

لمحة حول المتجر

أكملت شهادتي الجامعية في الكيمياء في كلية جوشين في إنديانا عام 1984. ثم قضيت ثلاث سنوات في العمل بما في ذلك مناصب في مختبرات مايلز (باير) في إلكارت إنديانا وفي جامعة إنديانا في مختبر الأحياء. أكملت درجة الدكتوراه في علم الأدوية القلبية الوعائية من جامعة ولاية ميتشيغان في عام 1992 ، وتابعت أبحاث ما بعد الدكتوراه في جامعة ميتشيغان في فسيولوجيا الأوعية الدموية مع البروفيسور ر. كلينتون ويب. بدأت مسيرتي المهنية في هيئة التدريس في جامعة نيو مكسيكو في عام 1995 في قسم علم وظائف الأعضاء الذي أصبح جزءًا من قسم بيولوجيا الخلية وعلم وظائف الأعضاء في عام 1997. خلال الـ 25 عامًا الماضية كنت جزءًا من مجموعة فسيولوجيا الأوعية الدموية في جامعة مركز نيومكسيكو للعلوم الصحية حيث تم ترقيتي إلى رتبة أستاذ كامل. تم تعييني رئيسًا للدائرة في يوليو 2020.

مجالات التخصص

  • وظيفة الخلايا البطانية الوعائية
  • التأثيرات القلبية الوعائية لكبريتيد الهيدروجين

إنجازات وجوائز

لقد أنشأت مختبرًا بحثيًا مثمرًا كجزء من مجموعة فسيولوجيا الأوعية الدموية في UNM-HSC. لقد قمت أيضًا بتدريب 10 طلاب دكتوراه و 6 زملاء ما بعد الدكتوراه والعديد من الطلاب الجامعيين. لدي فهرس i10 من 64 ومؤشر h من 34 مع أكثر من 80 منشورًا. لقد ساهمت في برنامج الدراسات العليا في العلوم الطبية الحيوية كمرشد ، ومدرب ، ومدير ، ومؤخراً كعميد مشارك أول لتعليم البحوث. خلال فترة ولايتي في قيادة التعليم العالي ، قمنا بتطوير العديد من المبادرات الجديدة بما في ذلك التوظيف الإقليمي المعزز والتدريب المهني الموسع وخيارات إضافية للطلاب للتحضير لمهن غير أكاديمية. لقد قادت أيضًا برنامج Signature في أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والأمراض الأيضية لمدة 10 سنوات تقريبًا ، وأقمت ندوة بحثية سنوية وأشرفت على برنامج المنح التجريبية لتنمية مجتمع البحث في هذا المجال المهم.

المنشورات الرئيسية

  • بيرج أ ، لين إتش سي ، كاناجي إن. بوابة زيادة التدفق الوريدي بواسطة Jejunal ولكن ليس كبريتيد الهيدروجين القولوني في أزياء تعتمد على أكسيد النيتريك في الفئران. حفر ديس علوم. 2020 11 سبتمبر. دوى: 10.1007 / s10620-020-06597-5
  • Snow JB، Norton CE، Sands MA، Weise-Cross L، Yan S، Herbert LM، Sheak JR، Gonzalez Bosc LV، Walker BR، Kanagy NL، Jernigan NL، Resta TC. يزيد نقص الأكسجة المتقطع من تفاعل مضيق الأوعية الرئوية من خلال إشارات PKCβ / المؤكسد الميتوكوندريا. أنا J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 2020 يونيو ؛ 62 (6): 732-746
  • موراليس-لوريدو إتش ، باريرا أ ، جارسيا جي إم ، بيس سي ، نايك جي إس ، غونزاليس بوسك إل في ، كاناجي إن إل. تنظيم كبريتيد الهيدروجين لتدفق الدم الكلوي والمساريقي. Am J Physiol قلب سيرك Physiol. 2019 1 نوفمبر ؛ 317 (5): H1157-H1165.
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?term=Kanagy+NL

الجنس

رابطة الدول المستقلة أنثى

اللغات

  • الانجليزية

أبحاث

ركز بحثي على جوانب مختلفة من فسيولوجيا القلب والأوعية الدموية مع التركيز بشكل أساسي على المنظمين الداخليين لوظيفة الأوعية الدموية الطرفية. ركزت الدراسات المبكرة في مسيرتي المهنية في هيئة التدريس على دور وتنظيم مستقبلات ألفا 2 الأدرينالية وقدمت بعضًا من الأسس المبكرة لتأسيس هذا النوع الفرعي من المستقبلات كمساهمين في تضيق الأوعية ، خاصة في الشرايين المريضة. لاحظت دراسات أخرى بالتعاون مع البروفيسور ماثيو كامبين ، التي تحقق في تأثير استنشاق الملوثات على وظائف الأوعية الدموية ، ضعف وظيفة الشريان التاجي في الفئران بعد استنشاق تركيزات ذات صلة من جزيئات عادم الديزل ، مما يوفر أساسًا فسيولوجيًا لأحداث الشريان التاجي المرتفعة لدى الأفراد الذين يعيشون في مناطق ذات مستويات عالية من ملوثات المركبات. طور التعاون مع الأستاذين Benjimen Walker و Leif Nelen نموذج الفئران لتوقف التنفس أثناء النوم لدراسة الآليات التي تؤدي إلى زيادة ضغط الدم مع التعرض المزمن لنقص الأكسجة أثناء النوم. وجدنا أن الارتفاعات في الببتيد المضيق للأوعية ، البطانة ، ساهمت في زيادة ضغط الدم. استمر مختبري في تحديد أن انقطاع النفس النومي المحاكي يضعف أيضًا وظيفة البطانة من خلال ضعف في توسع الأوعية المعتمد على كبريتيد الهيدروجين. ركز العمل منذ ذلك الحين على فك شفرة مسار توسع الأوعية لهذا الموسع الوعائي الداخلي الجديد وقد نشرنا العديد من الدراسات المهمة التي توضح كيف ينظم هذا الجزيء وظيفة الأوعية الدموية. هذا العمل هو محور المشاريع الحالية بما في ذلك دراسة سريرية تحقق في استخدام مستشعر جديد عبر الجلد لتقييم ارتباط إنتاج كبريتيد الهيدروجين الوعائي بالعلامات المعروفة لأمراض الأوعية الدموية الدقيقة.

تدريس المقررات

  • UME المرحلة الأولى فسيولوجيا الكلى

البحث والمنح الدراسية

الشهادات:

  • زميل جمعية القلب الأمريكية (1997)
  • زميل ، قسم القلب والأوعية الدموية بالجمعية الفسيولوجية الأمريكية (1998)

Nancy L. Kanagy, PhD

Biography

My undergraduate degree in Chemistry was completed at Goshen College in Indiana in 1984. I then spent three years working including positions at Miles (Bayer) Laboratories in Elkhart Indiana and at Indiana University in a Biology laboratory.  I completed a PhD in Cardiovascular Pharmacology at Michigan State University in 1992 followed post-doctoral research at the University of Michigan in Vascular Physiology with Professor R. Clinton Webb.  I began my faculty career at the University of New Mexico in 1995 in the Department of Physiology which became part of the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology in 1997. During the past 25 years I have been part of the Vascular Physiology Group at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center where I have risen through the rank to Full Professor. I was appointed as Chair of the Department in July 2020.

Areas of Specialty

  • Vascular endothelial cell function
  • Cardiovascular actions of hydrogen sulfide

Achievements & Awards

I have established a productive research laboratory as part of the Vascular Physiology Group at the UNM-HSC. I have also trained 10 PhD students, 6 post-doctoral fellows and numerous undergraduate students. I have an i10 index of 64 and an h-index of 34 with more than 80 publications.  I have contributed to the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program as a mentor, instructor, director and, most recently, as the Senior Associate Dean of Research Education. During my tenure in graduate education leadership we developed several new initiatives including enhanced regional recruitment, expanded professionalism training and additional options for students to prepare for non-academic careers. I also led the Signature Program in Cardiovascular and Metabolic Disease for almost 10 years, instituting an annual Research Symposium and overseeing the pilot grant program to grow the research community in this important area.

Key Publications

  • Birg A, Lin HC, Kanagy N. Portal Venous Flow Is Increased by Jejunal but Not Colonic Hydrogen Sulfide in a Nitric Oxide-Dependent Fashion in Rats.  Dig Dis Sci. 2020 Sep 11. doi: 10.1007/s10620-020-06597-5
  • Snow JB, Norton CE, Sands MA, Weise-Cross L, Yan S, Herbert LM, Sheak JR, Gonzalez Bosc LV, Walker BR, Kanagy NL, Jernigan NL, Resta TC. Intermittent Hypoxia Augments Pulmonary Vasoconstrictor Reactivity through PKCβ/Mitochondrial Oxidant Signaling. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 2020 Jun;62(6):732-746
  • Morales-Loredo H, Barrera A, Garcia JM, Pace CE, Naik JS, Gonzalez Bosc LV, Kanagy NL. Hydrogen sulfide regulation of renal and mesenteric blood flow.  Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol. 2019 Nov 1;317(5):H1157-H1165.
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?term=Kanagy+NL

Gender

cis-female

Languages

English

Research

My research has focused on various aspects of cardiovascular physiology with primary emphasis on endogenous regulators of peripheral vascular function. Studies early in my faculty career focused on the role and regulation of alpha 2 adrenergic receptors and provided some of the early groundwork establishing this receptor subtype as contributors to vasoconstriction, especially in diseased arteries.  Other studies in collaboration with Professor Matthew Campen investigating the impact of inhaled pollutants on vascular function observed impairment of coronary artery function in rats after inhalation of relevant concentrations of diesel exhaust particles providing a physiological basis for elevated coronary events in individuals living in areas with high levels of vehicle pollutants.  Collaborations with Professors Benjimen Walker and Leif Nelen developed a rat model of sleep apnea to study the mechanisms leading to increased blood pressure with chronic exposure to hypoxia during sleep.  We found that elevations in the vasoconstrictor peptide, endothelin, contributed to the increased blood pressure. My laboratory went on to determine that simulated sleep apnea also impairs endothelial function through impairments in hydrogen sulfide dependent vasodilation. Work since then has focused on deciphering the vasodilatory pathway of this novel endogenous vasodilator and we have published several important studies showing how this molecule regulates vascular function. This work is the focus of current projects including a clinical study investigating the use of a novel transdermal sensor to evaluate the correlation of vascular hydrogen sulfide production with known markers of microvascular disease.

Courses Taught

  • UME Phase I Renal Physiology

Research and Scholarship

Certifications:

  • Fellow, American Heart Association (1997)
  • Fellow, Cardiovascular Section of the American Physiological Society (1998)