Übersetzen

Biografie

Dr. Piccirillo ist Assistenzprofessor für Zellbiologie und Physiologie an der University of New Mexico School of Medicine mit einer Nebenstelle in der Abteilung für Neurochirurgie.

Dr. Piccirillo schloss 2003 sein Studium der Medizinischen Biotechnologie an der Universität Mailand (Italien) ab und promovierte zum Dr. in Translationale und Molekulare Medizin im Jahr 2008 an der Universität Mailand-Bicocca.

Für ihre Postdoc-Ausbildung erhielt Dr. Piccirillo 2010 ein Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship und arbeitete als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Department of Clinical Neurosciences der Cambridge University (UK). Im Februar 2011 wurde sie als Research Fellow von Hughes Hall, einem der 31 Colleges in Cambridge, gewählt. Im Jahr 2013 begann Dr. Piccirillo eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Southwestern Medical Center der University of Texas in Dallas (USA) und besuchte die Institution zwischen 2014-2016 als Visiting Senior Scientist.

Im Jahr 2016 wurde Dr. Piccirillo als Fakultätsmitglied für Innere Medizin an das UT Southwestern Medical Center berufen und 2018 zur Assistenzprofessorin an derselben Institution befördert. Im Jahr 2019 trat Dr. Piccirillo dem University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center als Tenure-Track-Assistenzprofessor in der Abteilung für Zellbiologie und Physiologie und Vollmitglied des UNM Comprehensive Cancer Center bei.

Fachgebiete

  • Hirntumore
  • Neurale Stammzellen
  • Krebsgenomik

Erfolge & Auszeichnungen

  • 2021 - AACR-Novocure Tumor Treating Fields Research Grant, American Association for Cancer Research und Novocure
  • 2019 - Gianni Bonadonna Prize for New Drug Development in Oncology, Gianni Bonadonna Foundation und Prada Group
  • 2017 - DocStars Award, The Cary Council - Southwestern Medical Foundation
  • 2016 - New Investigator Research Award, Cancer Research UK zur Unterstützung des Kooperationsprojekts mit dem UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • 2014 - Master of Arts (Honorary), University of Cambridge, UK
  • 2011-2016 - Forschungsstipendium am Hughes Hall College, Cambridge, UK
  • 2011-2013 - Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship for Career Development, Europäische Kommission
  • 2010 - Young Investigator Award, British Neuro-Oncology Society and Brain Tumor Research, UK
  • 2007 - Bester junger italienischer Forscher, Premio Sapio Award

Wichtige Veröffentlichungen

  • SGM Piccirillo, BA Reynolds, N. Zanetti, G. Lamorte, E. Binda, G. Broggi, H. Brem, A. Olivi, F. Dimeco, ALVescovi. Knochenmorphogenetische Proteine ​​hemmen das tumorerzeugende Potenzial von menschlichen Hirntumor-initiierenden Zellen. Natur, 2006. Dezember 7; 444(7120):761-765.
  • I. Spiteri, G. Caravagna, G. Cresswell, A. Vatsiou, D. Nichol, A. Acar, L. Ermini, K. Chkhaidze, B. Werner, R. Mair, E. Brognaro, G. Sanguinetti, SGM Piccirillo *, C. Watts*, A. Sottoriva*. Evolutionäre Dynamik der Resterkrankung beim menschlichen Glioblastom. Annalen der Onkologie, 2019. März 1; 30(3):456-463. *=korrespondierender und leitender Autor.

Geschlecht

Weiblich

Sprachen

  • Englisch, Italienisch

Forschung

Unsere Forschungsinteressen liegen an der Schnittstelle von Stammzell- und Krebsbiologie und Krebsgenomik. Konkret untersuchen wir die genetische und funktionelle Heterogenität von tumorstammähnlichen Zellen, die das Wachstum des aggressivsten Hirntumors bei Erwachsenen, dem Glioblastom, initiieren und aufrechterhalten. Wir integrieren genomische Messungen mit phänotypischen Analysen und nutzen diese Informationen, um mechanistische Einblicke in die Entwicklung therapeutischer Resistenzen zu gewinnen.

Sara G.M. Piccirillo, PhD

Biography

Dr. Piccirillo is an Assistant Professor of Cell Biology and Physiology at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine with a secondary appointment in the Department of Neurosurgery.

Dr. Piccirillo graduated at the University of Milan (Italy) in Medical Biotechnology in 2003 and gained a Ph.D. in Translational and Molecular Medicine in 2008 at the University of Milan-Bicocca.

For her post-doctoral training, Dr. Piccirillo was awarded a Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship in 2010 and worked as a Research Associate in the Department of Clinical Neurosciences of Cambridge University (UK). In February 2011, she was elected as a Research Fellow of Hughes Hall, one of the 31 colleges in Cambridge. In 2013, Dr. Piccirillo started a collaboration with the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas (US) and visited the institution between 2014-2016 as Visiting Senior Scientist.

In 2016, Dr. Piccirillo was recruited to UT Southwestern Medical Center as Faculty Member of Internal Medicine and in 2018 she was promoted to Assistant Professor at the same institution. In 2019, Dr. Piccirillo joined the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center as a Tenure-Track Assistant Professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology and Full Member of the UNM Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Areas of Specialty

  • Brain tumors
  • Neural stem cells
  • Cancer genomics

Achievements & Awards

  • 2021 - AACR-Novocure Tumor Treating Fields Research Grant, American Association for Cancer Research and Novocure
  • 2019 - Gianni Bonadonna Prize for New Drug Development in Oncology, Gianni Bonadonna Foundation and Prada Group
  • 2017 - DocStars Award, The Cary Council - Southwestern Medical Foundation
  • 2016 - New Investigator Research Award, Cancer Research UK to support the collaborative project with UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • 2014 - Master of Arts (Honorary), University of Cambridge, UK
  • 2011-2016 - Research Fellowship at Hughes Hall College, Cambridge, UK
  • 2011-2013 - Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship for Career Development, European Commission
  • 2010 - Young Investigator Award, British Neuro-Oncology Society and Brain Tumour Research, UK
  • 2007 - Best Young Italian Researcher, Premio Sapio Award

Key Publications

  • S.G.M. Piccirillo, B.A. Reynolds, N. Zanetti, G. Lamorte, E. Binda, G. Broggi, H. Brem, A. Olivi, F. Dimeco, A.L.Vescovi. Bone morphogenetic proteins inhibit the tumorigenic potential of human brain tumour-initiating cells. Nature, 2006 Dec 7; 444(7120):761-765.
  • I. Spiteri, G. Caravagna, G. Cresswell, A. Vatsiou, D. Nichol, A. Acar, L. Ermini, K. Chkhaidze, B. Werner, R. Mair, E. Brognaro, G. Sanguinetti, S.G.M. Piccirillo*, C. Watts*, A. Sottoriva*. Evolutionary dynamics of residual disease in human glioblastoma. Annals of Oncology, 2019 Mar 1; 30(3):456-463. *=corresponding and senior author.

Gender

Female

Languages

English, Italian

Research

Our research interests lie at the intersection of Stem Cell & Cancer Biology and Cancer Genomics. Specifically, we investigate the genetic and functional heterogeneity of tumor stem-like cells that initiate and sustain the growth of the most aggressive brain tumor in adults, i.e. glioblastoma. We integrate genomic measurements with phenotypic analysis and use this information to gain mechanistic insights into the development of therapeutic resistance.