اللغة

لمحة حول المتجر

حصل الدكتور ريستا على درجة الدكتوراه. في عام 1995 من UNM وبقي زميلًا لما بعد الدكتوراه قبل الانضمام إلى هيئة التدريس في بيولوجيا الخلية وعلم وظائف الأعضاء كأستاذ مساعد باحث في عام 1998. تمت ترقيته إلى أستاذ مساعد في عام 2000 ، وأستاذ مشارك في عام 2006 ، وأستاذ في عام 2012. وفي عام 2020 تم تعيينه في عميد مشارك أول للتعليم البحثي في ​​كلية الطب بجامعة نيو مكسيكو.

مجالات التخصص

ارتفاع ضغط الدم الرئوي: دور إشارات مؤكسدة العضلات الملساء البطانية والأوعية الدموية

إنجازات وجوائز

قام الدكتور ريستا ببناء برنامج بحث ممول من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة والذي قدّر الاعتراف الواسع النطاق من قبل المجتمع العلمي الوطني والدولي ، ويتجلى ذلك من خلال الخدمة في مجموعة متنوعة من أقسام الدراسة في المعاهد الوطنية للصحة وجمعية القلب الأمريكية ، والمحرر المساعد وعضوية مجلس التحرير ، والاختيار زميل جمعية القلب الأمريكية ، بصفته زميلًا في الجمعية الفسيولوجية الأمريكية ، دعا إلى ندوات وندوات وأدوار قيادية في لجان العلوم الوطنية. 

قدم الدكتور ريستا أيضًا مساهمات جديرة بالتقدير في الدراسات العليا والتعليم الطبي والجامعي وتطوير أعضاء هيئة التدريس المبتدئين في UNM. لقد عمل في العديد من المناهج الدراسية وتطوير المناصب الإدارية التربوية في مركز العلوم الصحية بجامعة الأمم المتحدة ، بما في ذلك رئيس قسم أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية / الرئة / الكتلة الكلوية في المناهج الطبية للمرحلة الأولى ، ومدير العديد من دورات برنامج الدراسات العليا في العلوم الطبية الحيوية (BSGP) ، وعضو من كل من اللجان التوجيهية BSGP و MD / PhD. على الصعيد الوطني ، يعمل في المجالس الاستشارية لبرامج التدريب المتنوعة في المعاهد الوطنية للصحة في التعليم البحثي.

لقد حقق المتدربون السابقون في المرحلة الجامعية والدراسات العليا وما بعد الدكتوراه نجاحًا كبيرًا في الحصول على زمالات تدريبية خارج أسوارها ، سواء منح المعاهد الوطنية للصحة الموجهة والمستقلة ، والمناصب الأكاديمية على مستوى الصناعة والحكومة وأعضاء هيئة التدريس. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فهو الباحث الرئيسي في منحة T32 Minority للتدريب على البحث المؤسسي التي تمولها المعاهد الوطنية للصحة والتي تدعم كلاً من متدرب ما قبل الدكتوراه وما بعد الدكتوراه من خلفيات عرقية واجتماعية واقتصادية متنوعة.

لقد شارك بنشاط كموجه ومعلم في برنامج BSGP ، MD / PhD ، والمناهج الطبية لسنوات عديدة ، وحصل على جائزة التميز في التدريس في كلية الطب لمساهماته في كل من BSGP والمناهج الطبية للمرحلة الأولى. في عام 2017 ، حصل على جائزة William G. في الآونة الأخيرة ، حصل على جائزة التميز في أبحاث أعضاء هيئة التدريس لأبحاث العلوم الأساسية ، وهي أعلى جائزة تقدير بحثي هنا في مركز العلوم الصحية.

المنشورات الرئيسية

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?term=resta+tc+OR+(resta+t+AND+bosc+lv+AND+kanagy)

  • Snow JB ، Norton CE ، Sands SA ، Weise-Cross L ، Yan S ، Herbert LM ، Sheak JR ، Gonzalez Bosc LV ، Walker BR ، Kanagy NL ، Jernigan NL ، ريستا تك. يزيد نقص الأكسجة المتقطع من تفاعل مضيق الأوعية الرئوية من خلال PKCb/ مؤكسد الميتوكوندريا. أنا J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(6):732-746, 2020.
  • Norton CE، Weise-Cross L، Ahmadian R، Yan S، Jernigan NL، Paffett ML، Naik JS، Walker BR، ريستا تك. تسهل المجالات الدهنية المتغيرة تضيق الأوعية الرئوية المعزز بعد نقص الأكسجة المزمن. أنا J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(6):709-718, 2020. (الافتتاحية المرتبطة: غريمر ب ، كويبلر وم. الكوليسترول - منظم جديد لنشاط الأوعية الدموية في الشرايين الرئوية. أنا J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62 (6): 671-673 ، 2020.)
  • Sheak JR، Yan S، Weise-Cross L، Ahmadian R، Walker BR، Jernigan NL، ريستا تك. تتوسط أنواع PKCb والأكسجين التفاعلي تفاعلًا معززًا لمضيق الأوعية الرئوية بعد نقص الأكسجة المزمن في الفئران حديثي الولادة. J الفيزيولوجيا صباحا. 318 (2) ، H470-H483 ، 2020. (جائزة APSselect للتميز في المنحة)
  • Norton CE، Sheak JR، Yan S، Weise-Cross L، Jernigan NL، Walker BR، ريستا تك. تتطلب زيادة تفاعل مضيق الأوعية الرئوية بعد نقص الأكسجة المزمن إشارات Src kinase ومستقبلات عامل نمو البشرة. أنا J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(1):61-73, 2020. (الافتتاحية المرتبطة: جاو واي ، راج جو. Src و EGFR: شركاء جدد في التوسط في ارتفاع ضغط الدم في الشريان الرئوي الناجم عن نقص الأكسجة المزمن. أنا J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(1):5-7, 2020.)

الجنس

ذكر

أبحاث

يتضمن برنامج البحث الحالي للدكتور ريستا مشروعين رئيسيين يدرسان مساهمة إشارات الالتهاب والأكسدة في ارتفاع ضغط الدم الرئوي (pHTN). الأول هو تحديد آليات إشارات العضلات الملساء الوعائية (VSM) المسؤولة عن PKC وأنواع الأكسجين التفاعلي للميتوكوندريا (ROS) ، وتضيق الأوعية الرئوية بوساطة ، وتحديد دور مسار الإشارات هذا في نقص الأكسجة المزمن المتقطع (CIH) - الزيادات المعتمدة في مضيق الأوعية. التفاعلية وإعادة تشكيل الشرايين وما يرتبط بها من pHTN في نموذج القوارض ذي الصلة سريريًا لانقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم. يفحص المشروع الثاني الآليات التي يتوسط بها نقص الأكسجة المزمن المستمر نغمة VSM الرئوية المعتمدة على الضغط ، ويزيد من تفاعل مضيق الأوعية ، ومساهمتها في تطوير pHTN. تتضمن هذه الآليات التنشيط المرتبط بالالتهاب لآلية إشارات Src kinase / EGFR في VSM الرئوي التي تمنح النقل الميكانيكي والكهربائي والكيميائي إلى O المشتق من NADPH أوكسيديز.2- الإنتاج ، تضيق الأوعية الدموية بوساطة RhoA ، إعادة تشكيل الشرايين و pHTN.

Thomas C. Resta, PhD

Biography

Dr. Resta received his Ph.D. in 1995 from UNM and remained as a postdoctoral fellow before joining the Cell Biology & Physiology faculty as a research assistant professor in 1998. He was promoted to assistant professor in 2000, associate professor in 2006, and professor in 2012. In 2020 was named the senior associate dean for research education at the UNM School of Medicine.

Areas of Specialty

Pulmonary hypertension: Role of endothelial and vascular smooth muscle oxidant signaling

Achievements & Awards

Dr. Resta has built an NIH-funded research program that has appreciated broad-based recognition by the national and international scientific community, exemplified by service on a variety of NIH and American Heart Association study sections, associate editor and editorial board memberships, selection as a Fellow of the American Heart Association, as Fellow of the American Physiological Society, invited seminars and symposia, and leadership roles on national science committees. 

Dr. Resta has also made meritorious contributions to graduate, medical and undergraduate education and junior faculty development at UNM. He has served in many curriculum development and educational administrative positions at the UNM Health Sciences Center, including Chair of the Cardiovascular/Pulmonary/Renal Block in the Phase I medical curriculum, director of several Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program (BSGP) courses, and a member of both BSGP and MD/PhD steering committees. Nationally he serves on advisory boards for NIH diversity training programs in research education.

His former undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral trainees have been highly successful in obtaining extramural training fellowships, both mentored and independent NIH grants, and industry, government and faculty-level academic positions. In addition, he is the principle investigator of an NIH-funded T32 Minority Institutional Research Training Grant that supports both pre-doctoral and post-doctoral trainees from diverse ethnic and socio-economic backgrounds.

He has been actively involved as a mentor and teacher in our BSGP, MD/PhD program, and medical curriculum for many years, and has received the School of Medicine’s Faculty Teaching Excellence Award for his contributions to both the BSGP and Phase I medical curriculum. In 2017, he was presented the William G. Dail Award for outstanding and lasting contributions as a teacher, mentor and leader in the medical and graduate education programs at the UNM School of Medicine. Most recently, he was awarded the Faculty Research Excellence Award for Basic Science Research, the highest research recognition award here at the Health Sciences Center.

Key Publications

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?term=resta+tc+OR+(resta+t+AND+bosc+lv+AND+kanagy)

  • Snow JB, Norton CE, Sands SA, Weise-Cross L, Yan S, Herbert LM, Sheak JR, Gonzalez Bosc LV, Walker BR, Kanagy NL, Jernigan NL, Resta TC. Intermittent hypoxia augments pulmonary vasoconstrictor reactivity through PKCb/mitochondrial oxidant signaling. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(6):732-746, 2020.
  • Norton CE, Weise-Cross L, Ahmadian R, Yan S, Jernigan NL, Paffett ML, Naik JS, Walker BR, Resta TC. Altered lipid domains facilitate enhanced pulmonary vasoconstriction following chronic hypoxia. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(6):709-718, 2020. (Associated Editorial: Grimmer B, Kuebler WM. Cholesterol – a novel regulator of vasoreactivity in pulmonary arteries. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(6):671-673, 2020.)
  • Sheak JR, Yan S, Weise-Cross L, Ahmadian R, Walker BR, Jernigan NL, Resta TC. PKCb and reactive oxygen species mediate enhanced pulmonary vasoconstrictor reactivity following chronic hypoxia in neonatal rats. Am J Physiol. 318 (2), H470-H483, 2020. (APSselect Award for distinction in scholarship)
  • Norton CE, Sheak JR, Yan S, Weise-Cross L, Jernigan NL, Walker BR, Resta TC. Augmented pulmonary vasoconstrictor reactivity following chronic hypoxia requires Src kinase and epidermal growth factor receptor signaling. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(1):61-73, 2020. (Associated Editorial: Gao Y, Raj JU. Src and EGFR: Novel partners in mediating chronic hypoxia-induced pulmonary artery hypertension. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol. 62(1):5-7, 2020.)

Gender

Male

Research

Dr. Resta’s current research program involves two main projects that examine the contribution of inflammation and oxidant signaling to pulmonary hypertension (pHTN). The first is to identify vascular smooth muscle (VSM) signaling mechanisms responsible for PKC and mitochondrial reactive oxygen species (ROS)-mediated pulmonary vasoconstriction, and to define the role of this signaling pathway in chronic intermittent hypoxia (CIH)-dependent increases in vasoconstrictor reactivity, arterial remodeling and associated pHTN in a clinically relevant rodent model of sleep apnea. The second project examines mechanisms by which chronic sustained hypoxia mediates pressure-dependent pulmonary VSM tone, augments vasoconstrictor reactivity, and their contribution to the development of pHTN. These mechanisms involve inflammation-associated activation of a Src kinase/EGFR signaling mechanism in pulmonary VSM that confers mechanical, electrical and chemical transduction to NADPH oxidase-derived O2- production, RhoA-mediated vasoconstriction, arterial remodeling and pHTN.