By Luke Frank

Dr. Carla Herman presented with New Mexico Governor's Alzheimer's Leadership Award

Carla Herman, MD, MPH, retiring chief of geriatrics at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, was recently presented the 2017 New Mexico Governor's Alzheimer's Leadership Award from the New Mexico Aging & Long-Term Services Department.

The award recognizes individuals who have furthered the goals of the New Mexico State Plan for Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias, benefiting people with dementia and their family caregivers. Herman's leadership has been instrumental in bringing attention to the critical issue of dementia and Alzheimer's Disease to the public, the medical profession, generations of state officials and educators in all fields.

"New Mexico has a wonderfully diverse senior population," Herman says. "It has been my pleasure to guide such a committed team of professionals at UNM and throughout the state in improving the lives of our parents and grandparents. To be recognized for the university's support and efforts is humbling."

Herman has served the senior population of New Mexico for nearly 25 years. Under her leadership, the UNM Center on Aging has established a decentralized infrastructure enlisting community-based physicians to train SOM students and physicians' training in geriatrics. Through the development of problem-based cases and web-based modules, the center has improved geriatrics training of New Mexico physicians in communities throughout the state.

"Throughout her career, Dr. Herman has been tireless in her efforts to better the care of all New Mexicans with Alzheimer's disease, their families and caregivers, and the health professionals caring for them," said Myles Copeland, NM Aging & Long-Term Services Department secretary. "She has been a consistent champion of the need for education for medical professionals at all levels, and has marshalled considerable resources for funding research and education initiatives in our state."

Categories: Community Engagement, Health, School of Medicine