Skip to main content

About Us

Stay Connected

Sign up for the HSC Office for Diversity list serve to learn about news and events.

The University of New Mexico Health Science Center's Office for Diversity is here to serve the needs of students, faculty, staff, and community members. Our staff is committed to increasing and supporting a diverse health workforce for our state.

Diversity Matters in Health Care

When workplace diversity and awareness of health inequities increases, health and well-being of all New Mexicans also increases. To meet these goals, the Office for Diversity provides educational support to students and professionals in health. Read about the Office's mission and vision.

Meet our Team

Leadership

Valerie Romero-Leggott, MD
Vice Chancellor for Diversity
Email: vromero@salud.unm.edu

Brenda Pereda MD, MS
SOM Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion
Email: brpereda@salud.unm.edu

Felicia Rohan-Minjares, MD
Cultural Competency Co-Director
Email: FRohan-Minjares@salud.unm.edu

Jessica Goodkind, PhD
Cultural Competence Co-Director
Email: JGoodkind@salud.unm.edu

Martha Muller, MD
Leadership Director
Email: MLMuller@salud.unm.edu

Cameron Crandall, MD, PhD
Director for LGBT Health Equity & Inclusion
Email: CCrandall@salud.unm.edu

Melissa Gonzales, PhD
HSC Director for Evaluation and Research for the Diversity and Inclusion
Email: mgonzales@salud.unm.edu

Karissa Culbreath, PhD
Director, Building Outstanding STEM-H Students Program (BOSS)
Email: kculbreath@salud.unm.edu

Alisha Parada, MD
Vice Chair of Diversity and Inclusion, Department of Internal Medicine
Email: aparada@salud.unm.edu

Administrative Staff

Laura Arguelles
Analysist/ Programmer III
Email: arua13l@unm.edu

Laura DeCardenas
Administrative Assistant III
Email: LDeCardenas@salud.unm.edu

Erin Garcia, JD
Program Specialist STEM-H Center
Email: scifair@unm.edu

Nichelle Gilbert, MBA
Executive Administrator
Email: NGilbert@salud.unm.edu

Karen Kinsman, MS
Director/ Sr. Program Manager STEM-H Center
Email: kkinsman@unm.edu

Teresa Madrid, MPH
Program Specialist
Email: TMMadrid@salud.unm.edu

Diana Martinez, MPH
Program Manager
Email: deemb@salud.unm.edu

Octavio Munoz, BBA
Program Specialist
Email: OMunoz1@salud.unm.edu

Nathan Ortiz
Program Coordinator
NtOrtiz@salud.unm.edu

Daniel Pate
Program Specialist
Email: djpate@salud.unm.edu

Rosa Samudio
Program Coordinator
Email: Rosamudio@salud.unm.edu

 Contact Us

Find out how the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center Office for Diversity can help you succeed as a faculty member, staffer or student. Call 505-272-2728 or email us today.