Skip to main content

About Us

Stay Connected

Sign up for the HSC Office for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion list serve to learn about news and events.

The University of New Mexico Health Science Center's Office for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion is here to serve the needs of students, faculty, staff, and community members. Our staff is committed to increasing and supporting a diverse health workforce for our state.

Diversity Matters in Health Care

When workplace diversity and awareness of health inequities increases, health and well-being of all New Mexicans also increases. To meet these goals, the Office for Diversity provides educational support to students and professionals in health. Read about the Office's mission and vision.

Meet our Team

Leadership

Valerie Romero-Leggott, MD
Vice Chancellor for Diversity
vromero@salud.unm.edu

Brenda Pereda MD, MS
SOM Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion
brpereda@salud.unm.edu

Felisha Rohan-Minjares, MD
Cultural Competency Co-Director
FRohan-Minjares@salud.unm.edu

Jessica Goodkind, PhD
Cultural Competence Co-Director
JGoodkind@salud.unm.edu

Martha Muller, MD
Leadership Director
MLMuller@salud.unm.edu

Cameron Crandall, MD, PhD
Director for LGBT Health Equity & Inclusion
CCrandall@salud.unm.edu

Melissa Gonzales, PhD
HSC Director for Evaluation and Research for the Diversity and Inclusion
mgonzales@salud.unm.edu

Karissa Culbreath, PhD
Director, Building Outstanding STEM-H Students Program (BOSS)
kculbreath@salud.unm.edu

Alisha Parada, MD
Vice Chair of Diversity and Inclusion, Department of Internal Medicine
aparada@salud.unm.edu

Lindsay Smart, PhD
Director of Leadership
LSmart@salud.unm.edu

Administrative Staff

Laura Arguelles
Analysist/ Programmer III
arua13l@unm.edu

Stacy Collier, MA
Program Specialist
smcollier@salud.unm.edu

Erin Garcia, JD
Program Specialist STEM-H Center
scifair@unm.edu

Karen Kinsman, MS
Director/ Sr. Program Manager STEM-H Center
kkinsman@unm.edu

Teresa Madrid, MPH
Program Specialist
TMMadrid@salud.unm.edu

Diana Martinez, MPH
Program Manager
deemb@salud.unm.edu

Sean McDougle, MBA
Executive Assistant
smcdougle@salud.unm.edu

Luis Carlos Muñoz
Student Program Specialist
lcmunoz@salud.unm.edu

Octavio Munoz, BBA
Program Specialist
OMunoz1@salud.unm.edu

Nathan Ortiz
Program Coordinator
NtOrtiz@salud.unm.edu

Daniel Pate
Program Specialist
djpate@salud.unm.edu

Steven J. Romero
Director of Operations
StJRomero@salud.unm.edu

Rosa Samudio
Program Coordinator
Rosamudio@salud.unm.edu

Gloria Sands
Program Coordinator
GASands@salud.unm.edu

 Contact Us

Find out how the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center Office for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion can help you succeed as a faculty member, staffer or student. Call 505-272-2728 or email us today.