Biomedical Research Education Programs

MSC08-4560
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:
UNM Health Sciences Center (North Campus) Reginald Heber Fitz Hall (Building 211)
Room B61

Phone: (505) 272-1887
Fax: 505-272-8738

ASERT-IRACDA Education Mentors

Please click on each section to view our past research mentors.

Central New Mexico Community College (CNM)

CNM: http://www.cnm.edu/

Karen Bentz, M.S.
Courses: Non-majors, Intro Biology, Microbiology
2016-2017: Tess Shideler
2017-2018: Christine Woods
(505)224-4000 ext. 50094
kbentz@cnm.edu

John Cornish
Dean, Math, Science, and Engineering

Phil Carman
Assistant Dean, Math, Science and Engineering

Ivy Crockett, M.S.
Courses: Lecture and Lab, Introductory Chemistry, General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry
2018-2019: Crystal Vanderzanden
505-224-4000 x 53541; (cell) 662-297-0110
icrockett@cnm.edu

Melissa Franklin, Ph.D.
Courses: Intro Biology, Microbiology, Anatomy & Physiology, Pathophysiology, Evolutionary Medicine
2016-2017: Katie Zychowski
(505) 224-4000 ext:50862
Mfranklin9@cnm.edu

Leah Freeman, Ph.D.
Courses: Non-majors, Intro Biology, Anatomy & Physiology, Biotechnology
XX-XX Russ Morton
2016-2017: Alfreda Nelson
(505)224-5032
lpulling@cnm.edu

Susan Johnson, M.S.
Courses: Online only!  Anatomy and Physiology, Pathophysiology
(505) 224-4000 ext. 50102
sjohnson@cnm.edu

Terri Koontz, M.S.
Courses: Non-majors, Intro Bio, Anatomy and Physiology, Ecology/Evolution, Pathophysiology
2016-2017: Laura Weise Cross
2018-2019: Neil
(505) 224-4000 ext:50929
tkoontz@cnm.edu

Philip Lister, Ph.D.
Courses: Microbiology
Former ASERT Fellow: Brian Gray
(505) 224-4000 ext. 50325
plister@cnm.edu

Mary Martinez, M.S.
Courses: Nutrition
(505) 224-4000 ext. 50170
mamartinez@cnm.edu

Karen Strunk Riley, Ph.D.
Courses: Non-majors, Intro Biology, Microbiology, Anatomy and Physiology, Pathophysiology
2015-2016: Danielle (Protas) Taylor
2017-2018: Stephanie Jerman
(505)224-4000 ext. 50928
kstrunk@cnm.edu

Clarissa Sorensen-Unruh, M.S.
Courses: Chemistry/Biochemistry
Former ASERT Fellows: Jayne M. Christen and Robert Taylor
(505) 224-4000 (ext. 50078)
csorensen@cnm.edu; csoren1@unm.edu

Patricia Wilber, Ph.D.
Courses: Non-majors, Intro Biology, Microbiology
(505) 224-4000 ext. 50156
pwilber@cnm.edu

Shawn Wright, M.S.
Math, Science and Engineering (Biology) 
ASERT Fellows: Lindsey Long and Erica Dashner
swright@cnm.edu

New Mexico State University (NMSU)

NMSU: http://www.nmsu.edu/

Amanda Ashley
Biochemistry (grad and undergrad), Toxicology, Molecular Genetics (grad)
ashleyak@ad.nmsu.edu
https://chemistry.nmsu.edu/people/faculty/amanda-k-ashley/

Bill Boecklen
Ecology, Biometry
wboeckle@nmsu.edu
https://bio.nmsu.edu/directory/faculty/char/B/

Jen Curtiss
Developmental Biology, Cell biology (undergrad and grad), CURE authentic research course
curtij01@nmsu.edu
https://bio.nmsu.edu/directory/faculty/

Avis James
Introductory Biology (majors and non-majors), Evolution, Zoology
avis@nmsu.edu
https://bio.nmsu.edu/directory/faculty/char/J/

Boris Kiefer
Introductory Physics (majors and non-majors), Mechanics, Computational Physics, The Search for Water in the Solar System
bkiefer@nmsu.edu
http://physics.nmsu.edu/people/facstaff/BorisKiefer.html

Michele Nishiguchi
Symbiosis, Microbiology. Microbial Genetics, Zoology, Invertebrate Zoology, Climate Change
nish@nmsu.edu
http://nishsymbiosislab.com

Elba Serrano
Neuroscience, Ethics
serrano@nmsu.edu
https://bio.nmsu.edu/directory/faculty/

Michele Shuster
Cancer Biology, Introductory Biology (majors and non-majors), CREATE Scientific Thinking
mshuster@nmsu.edu
https://bio.nmsu.edu/directory/faculty/char/S/

Brad Shuster
Cell Biology (grad and undergrad), Developmental Biology, Introductory Biology (majors), CURE Research course
cshuster@nmsu.edu
http://biology-web.nmsu.edu/~shuster-lab/

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute (SIPI)

SIPI: https://www.sipi.edu/

Todd Nims, M.S.
Courses: General Biology, General Zoology, General Ecology, Wildlife Management, and Wildlife Management techniques
2017-2018: Tracy Dohn
505-346-7729 office
todd.nims@bie.edu

Alfonso Heras Llanos, PhD
Courses: Advanced College Algebra, Trigonometry, Calculus I & II
2018-2019: Sheldwin Yazzie
505-922-6552
Alfonso.Herasllanos@bie.edu