Research Means Hope

National Consortium

The Clinical & Translational Science Awards (CTSA) program supports a national consortium of 62 medical research institutions. Its goals are to accelerate the translation of laboratory discoveries into treatments for patients, to engage communities in clinical research efforts, and to train a new generation of clinical and translational researchers.

Launched in 2006 by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), The CTSA program has enable innovative research teams to speed discovery and advance science. Led by NIH's National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), the CTSA program encourages teams of investigators to tackle complex health and research challenges and find ways to turn these discoveries into proactive solutions for patients. These teams are making progress across a broad range of diseases and conditions, such as cancer, diabetes, neurological disorders and heart disease. (Source: NCATS)

 Map of states in the CTSA ConsortiumCurrently, 62 medical research institutions in 31 states and the District of Columbia are active members of the CTSA Consortium. These institutions are working together to speed the translation of research discovery into improved patient care.

Consortium of Rural States (CORES)

The CORES Research Collaborative was formed to facilitate collaborative and disciplined efforts that will produce new opportunities for advancing translational research. The Collaborative comprises Arkansas, Kansas, Kentucky, New Mexico, Utah, and Iowa states that share common health care challenges, including significant rural populations.

Each state is served by a single Clinical and Translational Research Award (CTSA) institution: the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center (UNM), the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), the University of Kansas Medical Center (KUMC), The University of Kentucky (UK), the University of Utah School of Medicine (UH), and the University of Iowa (UI).

Established in November 2012, the Collaborative has identified five initial areas of collaboration:

  1. Community engagement, to effectively engage communities and practices in the translational research process via bidirectional dialogues, especially focused on underserved populations.
  2. Emerging technologies to foster advances in translational research through integration of basic and clinical research to gain insights into the mechanism of disease.
  3. Career building and mentoring activities, including pre-submission grant review.
  4. Multi-center pilot research programs for preliminary and proof-of-concept studies critical to moving basic laboratory findings into clinical applications.
  5. Integrated and interdisciplinary education, training, and career development in clinical and translational science, including curriculum and program development, clinical research training and recruiting.

Through this collaboration, our members hope to advance their own research interests while leveraging their collective clinical and translational activities to deliver results that benefit the region and the nation.

Mountain West Research Consortium

The Mountain West Research Consortium is comprised of 11 academic institutions working together to build capacity for transformative biomedical research and improve health outcomes within the Western states region. MWRC was founded by institutions in western states with historically low levels of NIH funding.

The consortium provides opportunities for collaboration and research training, as well as access to shared resources and services. Activities include joint pilot funding, VIVO networking, mini-sabbaticals, junior faculty mentoring, and an undergraduate biomedical research pipeline program.

Request CTSC Services

CTSC Research Concierge

CTSC Research Concierge • 505-272-3183



CTSC Administration Office

900 Camino de Salud NE

Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: 505-272-6042