لمحة حول المتجر

حصل الدكتور ريستا على درجة الدكتوراه. في عام 1995 من UNM وبقي زميلًا لما بعد الدكتوراه قبل الانضمام إلى هيئة التدريس في بيولوجيا الخلية وعلم وظائف الأعضاء كأستاذ مساعد باحث في عام 1998. تمت ترقيته إلى أستاذ مساعد في عام 2000 ، وأستاذ مشارك في عام 2006 ، وأستاذ في عام 2012. وفي عام 2020 تم تعيينه في عميد مشارك أول للتعليم البحثي في ​​كلية الطب بجامعة نيو مكسيكو.

المنشورات الرئيسية

مقال صحفي
Norton، C، E Jernigan، Nikki، Walker، B، R Resta، Tom، 2020 مطلوب إزالة الاستقطاب من الغشاء لنغمة الشرايين الرئوية المعتمدة على الضغط ولكن ليس تضيق الأوعية المعزز للبطانة 1 بعد نقص الأكسجة المزمن. الدورة الدموية الرئوية، 10، 4، 2045894020973559
مقال صحفي
Yan، S، Resta، Tom، Jernigan، Nikki، 2020 آليات مضيق الأوعية في ارتفاع ضغط الدم الرئوي المزمن الناجم عن نقص الأكسجة: دور إشارات الأكسدة. مضادات الأكسدة (بازل ، سويسرا) ، 9 ، 10 ، https://www.mdpi.com/2076-3921/9/10/999

أبحاث

يتضمن برنامج البحث الحالي للدكتور ريستا مشروعين رئيسيين يدرسان مساهمة إشارات الالتهاب والأكسدة في ارتفاع ضغط الدم الرئوي (pHTN). الأول هو تحديد آليات إشارات العضلات الملساء الوعائية (VSM) المسؤولة عن PKC وأنواع الأكسجين التفاعلي للميتوكوندريا (ROS) ، وتضيق الأوعية الرئوية بوساطة ، وتحديد دور مسار الإشارات هذا في نقص الأكسجة المزمن المتقطع (CIH) - الزيادات المعتمدة في مضيق الأوعية. التفاعلية وإعادة تشكيل الشرايين وما يرتبط بها من pHTN في نموذج القوارض ذي الصلة سريريًا لانقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم. يفحص المشروع الثاني الآليات التي يتوسط بها نقص الأكسجة المزمن المستمر نغمة VSM الرئوية المعتمدة على الضغط ، ويزيد من تفاعل مضيق الأوعية ، ومساهمتها في تطوير pHTN. تتضمن هذه الآليات التنشيط المرتبط بالالتهاب لآلية إشارات Src kinase / EGFR في VSM الرئوي التي تمنح النقل الميكانيكي والكهربائي والكيميائي إلى O المشتق من NADPH أوكسيديز.2- الإنتاج ، تضيق الأوعية الدموية بوساطة RhoA ، إعادة تشكيل الشرايين و pHTN.

Biography

Dr. Resta received his Ph.D. in 1995 from UNM and remained as a postdoctoral fellow before joining the Cell Biology & Physiology faculty as a research assistant professor in 1998. He was promoted to assistant professor in 2000, associate professor in 2006, and professor in 2012. In 2020 was named the senior associate dean for research education at the UNM School of Medicine.

Key Publications

Journal Article
Norton, C, E Jernigan, Nikki, Walker, B, R Resta, Tom, 2020 Membrane depolarization is required for pressure-dependent pulmonary arterial tone but not enhanced vasoconstriction to endothelin-1 following chronic hypoxia. Pulmonary circulation, vol. 10, Issue 4, 2045894020973559
Journal Article
Yan, S, Resta, Tom, Jernigan, Nikki, 2020 Vasoconstrictor Mechanisms in Chronic Hypoxia-Induced Pulmonary Hypertension: Role of Oxidant Signaling. Antioxidants (Basel, Switzerland), vol. 9, Issue 10 https://www.mdpi.com/2076-3921/9/10/999

Research

Dr. Resta’s current research program involves two main projects that examine the contribution of inflammation and oxidant signaling to pulmonary hypertension (pHTN). The first is to identify vascular smooth muscle (VSM) signaling mechanisms responsible for PKC and mitochondrial reactive oxygen species (ROS)-mediated pulmonary vasoconstriction, and to define the role of this signaling pathway in chronic intermittent hypoxia (CIH)-dependent increases in vasoconstrictor reactivity, arterial remodeling and associated pHTN in a clinically relevant rodent model of sleep apnea. The second project examines mechanisms by which chronic sustained hypoxia mediates pressure-dependent pulmonary VSM tone, augments vasoconstrictor reactivity, and their contribution to the development of pHTN. These mechanisms involve inflammation-associated activation of a Src kinase/EGFR signaling mechanism in pulmonary VSM that confers mechanical, electrical and chemical transduction to NADPH oxidase-derived O2- production, RhoA-mediated vasoconstriction, arterial remodeling and pHTN.