السّيرة الذّاتيّة للمُبَجّلة

Meic H. Schmidt ، MD ، MBA ، FAANS ، FACS هو أستاذ ورئيس قسم جراحة الأعصاب في جامعة نيو مكسيكو. كان عضوًا في هيئة التدريس في جامعة يوتا تحت إشراف William T. Canwell ، دكتوراه في الطب ، دكتوراه لمدة 14 عامًا. هناك ، كان نائب رئيس القسم. في عام 2016 ، تم تعيين الدكتور شميدت أستاذًا ورئيسًا لجراحة المخ والأعصاب في كلية الطب بنيويورك وأسس معهد WMC للمخ والعمود الفقري. ينصب التركيز السريري الرئيسي للدكتور شميدت على إدارة المرضى الذين يعانون من أورام وإصابات في العمود الفقري والحبل الشوكي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يفحص المرضى الذين يعانون من مرض العمود الفقري التنكسي المعقد.

بيان الشخصية

تخرج الدكتور شميدت بدرجة البكالوريوس في علم النفس من جامعة يوتا. ثم حصل على شهادته الطبية مع مرتبة الشرف في البحث لعمله في العلاج الضوئي من كلية الطب في ويسكونسن. بعد ذلك أكمل الإقامة في جراحة الأعصاب في كلية الطب في ويسكونسن. تمكن د. شميدت من الحصول على تمويل من خلال منحة تدريب المعاهد الوطنية للصحة للتدريب على الزمالة في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان فرانسيسكو. هناك أكمل زمالة متتالية في علم الأورام العصبية وجراحة العمود الفقري في مركز أبحاث أورام الدماغ UCSF وقسم الجراحة العصبية. أكمل الدكتور شميدت درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال التنفيذية في كلية ديفيد اكليس للأعمال في جامعة يوتا.

مجالات التخصص

جراحة العمود الفقري المعقدة والمتدنية التوغل والجراحة التنظيرية للأورام والصدمات وأمراض العمود الفقري التنكسية

الجراحة المجهرية لأورام وتشوهات الأوعية الدموية في النخاع الشوكي

جراحة إصابات الدماغ والعمود الفقري

التعليم

زمالة: جراحة العمود الفقري ، جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان فرانسيسكو ، قسم جراحة الأعصاب

الإقامة: كلية الطب في ويسكونسن ، قسم جراحة المخ والأعصاب

كلية الطب: كلية الطب في ولاية ويسكونسن

الجامعية: جامعة ولاية يوتا

الشهادات

البورد الأمريكي لجراحة الأعصاب (ABNS)

إنجازات وجوائز

معروف دوليًا لدوره في إنشاء تقنية جديدة لجراحة العمود الفقري التنظيري الصدري للأورام والكسور. لديه اهتمام بالعلوم الأساسية والبحوث السريرية منذ فترة طويلة في أبحاث الفلورة والعلاج الضوئي لأورام الدماغ والغدة النخامية والعمود الفقري. تم تمويله من قبل جمعية السرطان الأمريكية ووكالة ناسا. حصل على جائزة NASA Space Technology Research Award لعمله باستخدام تقنية LED في علاج السرطان بالعلاج الضوئي الديناميكي. نتج عن أبحاثه وعمله السريري أكثر من 200 مخطوطة وفصول وكتاب راجعها الزملاء.

الجنس

(ذكر)

اللغات

  • انجليزي
  • الألمانيّة
  • الفرنسية

أبحاث

تشمل الاهتمامات البحثية للدكتور شميدت التحقيق في فوائد جراحة العمود الفقري طفيفة التوغل للأورام النقيلية ، وتطوير النتائج الصحية وإجراءات جودة الرعاية.

البحث والمنح الدراسية

تشمل الاهتمامات البحثية للدكتور شميدت التحقيق في فوائد جراحة العمود الفقري طفيفة التوغل للأورام النقيلية ، وتطوير النتائج الصحية وإجراءات جودة الرعاية.

Biography

Meic H. Schmidt, MD, MBA, FAANS, FACS is the Professor and Chair of Neurosurgery at the University of New Mexico. He was on faculty at the University of Utah under William T. Couldwell, MD, PhD for 14 years. There, he was the Vice Chair of the department. In 2016, Dr. Schmidt was appointed Professor and Chair of neurosurgery at the New York Medical College and founded the WMC Brain and Spine Institute. Dr. Schmidt’s main clinical focus is on management of patients with tumors and injuries to the spine and spinal cord. In addition, he sees patients with complex degenerative spine disease.

Personal Statement

https://findadoc.health.unm.edu/FADPF/Home/Details/%23001IAACLU

Dr. Schmidt graduated with a Bachelor in Psychology from the University of Utah. He then received his medical degree with Honors in Research for his work in Photodynamic Therapy from the Medical College of Wisconsin. After that he completed a neurosurgical residency at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Schmidt was able to receive funding via National Institutes of Health training grant for fellowship training at the University of California, San Francisco. There he completed back to back fellowships in Neuro-oncology and Spinal Surgery at the UCSF Brain Tumor Research Center and the Department of Neurological Surgery. Dr. Schmidt completed the executive MBA at David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah.

Areas of Specialty

• Complex, minimally invasive & endoscopic spine surgery for tumors, trauma and degenerative spine disease
• Microsurgery for tumors and vascular malformations of the spinal cord
• Surgery for brain and spine trauma

Certifications

• American Board of Neurological
• Surgery (ABNS)

Achievements & Awards

Internationally known for his role in establishing a new thoracoscopic spine surgery technique for tumors and fractures. He has a longstanding basic science and clinical research interest in Fluorescence and Photodynamic Therapy research for brain, pituitary and spinal tumors. He has been funded by the American Cancer Society and NASA. He was awarded the NASA Space Technology Research Award for his work using LED technology in the treatment of cancer with photodynamic therapy. His research and clinical work have resulted in over 200 peer reviewed manuscripts, chapters and books.

Gender

Male

Languages

  • English
  • German
  • French

Research

Dr. Schmidt's research interests include investigating the benefits of minimally invasive spinal surgery for metastatic tumors, and the development of health outcome and quality of care measures.

Research and Scholarship

Dr. Schmidt's research interests include investigating the benefits of minimally invasive spinal surgery for metastatic tumors, and the development of health outcome and quality of care measures.