Biografie

Dr. Strickler studierte Medizin am Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine (1999-2003). Sie absolvierte ihre pädiatrische Facharztausbildung am Kinderkrankenhaus der Universität von New Mexico (2003-2006). Sie ist Fachärztin für allgemeine Pädiatrie und Kindesmissbrauchspädiatrie.

Persönliche Äußerung

Leslie Strickler DO, FAAP ist Professorin für Pädiatrie an der medizinischen Fakultät der Universität von New Mexico, wo sie als Kinderärztin für Kindesmissbrauch arbeitet. Sie ist medizinische Direktorin des Child Abuse Response Team (CART) und geschäftsführende Direktorin/interimistische medizinische Direktorin des Para los Ninos-Programms. CART bietet medizinische Untersuchungen von Kindern an, die mutmaßlich Opfer körperlicher Misshandlung oder Vernachlässigung geworden sind. Para los Ninos bietet eine medizinische Untersuchung von Kindern an, die mutmaßliche Opfer sexueller Übergriffe oder sexuellen Missbrauchs sind.

Dr. Strickler ist regelmäßig als Sachverständiger in Zivil- und Strafverfahren wegen Kindesmisshandlung tätig. Weitere berufliche Aktivitäten umfassen die Mitgliedschaft im Gremium für Kindesmissbrauch und -vernachlässigung für die New Mexico Child Fatality Review, die Mitgliedschaft in der vom Gesetzgeber ernannten John Paul Taylor Taskforce zum Wohlergehen von Kindern und die Teilnahme an einem multidisziplinären Überprüfungsteam in mehreren Landkreisen. Dr. Strickler ist aktiv in der Ausbildung von Gesundheitsdienstleistern und praktizierenden Gesundheitsdienstleistern und dient als Direktor der Stipendienrotationen für pädiatrische Assistenzärzte und pädiatrische Notfallmedizin bei Kindesmisshandlung. Ein Bereich von besonderem wissenschaftlichem Interesse ist die Bewertung von Darstellungen einzigartiger Erkrankungen und Unfalltraumen im Zusammenhang mit Missbrauch.

Fachgebiete

Kindesmissbrauch Pädiatrie

Erfolge & Auszeichnungen

Ursinus College Magazine Herbst 2020, vorgestellt im Artikel „Bären an der Front“

USA Today Auswahl an New Mexico Women of the Century, August 2020

Stipendium für das Internationale Symposium über Kindesmissbrauch des 36. National Children's Advocacy Center. Verliehen im Dezember 2019 für die Konferenz im März 2020. Konferenz aufgrund von COVID-19-Einschränkungen verschoben

Anerkennung der New Mexico Legislative for Outstanding Service to the University and State, 28. Januar 2019

iCare Award des UNM Paediatric Neurosurgery Service, Januar 2019

Alice A. Cushing Award for Humanity in Medicine, vom UNM Pediatric Residency Program, 2016

Nominierter UNM Pediatric Faculty Award 2012, 2017

SOCAN-Stipendium für die AAP Pediatric Leadership Alliance und das Annual Leadership Forum, 2011

Mattel Toy Grant für CART, 2010

Albuquerque Top Docs, 2008, 2009, 2013, 2020

UNM Phase 2 Clinical Teaching Award, Lobende Erwähnung, 2008

UNM Phase 2 Clinical Teaching Award, 2007

American Medical Women's Association Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Achievement Citation, 2003

Hervorragender Student in Psychiatrie, Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine, 2003

Phi Beta Kappa, 1995

Wichtige Veröffentlichungen

Strickler L, Pierce J. Faktor-VII-Mangel als möglicher Kindesmissbrauch. Forensischer Sci-Med-Pfad. 2015, 11. September (3): 472-474.

Lopez-Bushnell K., et al. Shaken-Baby-Syndrom: Ein krankenhausbasiertes Aufklärungs- und Präventionsprogramm in der Intermediate Care und den Newborn Intensive Care Nurseries. Zeitschrift für Neugeborenenpflege. 2017 Juni. 23(3):142-150.

Strickler L, Harjo J. Verbrennungen aufgrund der Anwendung von rohem Knoblauch an den Füßen als Hausmittel gegen Fieber. Pädiatrische Notfallversorgung. 2019. Dez. 35(12):e234-e235.

K. Feldman, T. Tayama, L. Strickler, L. Johnson, G. Kolhatkar, C. DeRidder, D. Matthews, R. Sidbury, J. Taylor. Pädiatrische Notfallversorgung. 2020 Feb. 36(2):e43-e49.

Strickler L, Van-Dinh L, Torrez C, Williams J. Lokalisierte Koagulopathie einer venösen Fehlbildung mit Beteiligung der Schamlippen als Nachahmung des sexuellen Missbrauchs von Kindern. Zur Veröffentlichung angenommen Sept. 2020 in Clinical Pediatric Emergency Care.

Biography

Dr. Strickler attended medical school at the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine (1999-2003). She completed her pediatrics residency at the University of New Mexico Children’s Hospital (2003 -2006). She is board certified in general pediatrics and child abuse pediatrics.

Personal Statement

Leslie Strickler DO, FAAP is a professor of pediatrics at the University of New Mexico School of medicine where she works as a child abuse pediatrician. She serves as the medical director of the Child Abuse Response Team (CART) and executive director/interim medical director of the Para los Ninos Program. CART provides medical evaluations of children who are alleged victim of physical abuse or neglect. Para los Ninos provides medical evaluation of children who are alleged victims of sexual assault or sexual abuse.

Dr. Strickler frequently serves as an expert witness in civil and criminal legal proceedings relating to child maltreatment. Additional professional activities include membership on the Child Abuse and Neglect Panel for the New Mexico Child Fatality Review, membership in the legislature appointed John Paul Taylor Taskforce on child wellbeing, and participation in multiple county Multidisciplinary Review team. Dr. Strickler is active in educating training and practicing healthcare providers and serves serve as the director of pediatric resident and pediatric emergency medicine fellowship rotations in child maltreatment. An area of particular scholarly interest is the evaluation of presentations of unique medical conditions and accidental trauma concerning for abuse.

Areas of Specialty

Child Abuse Pediatrics

Achievements & Awards

Ursinus College Magazine Fall 2020, featured in article “Bears on the Front Line”

USA Today Selection to New Mexico Women of the Century, August 2020

Scholarship to the 36th National Children’s Advocacy Center’s International Symposium on Child Abuse. Awarded December 2019 for March 2020 Conference. Conference Postponed Due to COVID-19 Restrictions

New Mexico Legislature Recognition for Outstanding Service to the University and State, January 28, 2019

iCare Award from UNM Pediatric Neurosurgery Service, January 2019

Alice A. Cushing Award for Humanity in Medicine, by UNM Pediatric Residency Program, 2016

Nominee UNM Pediatric Faculty Award 2012, 2017

SOCAN Scholarship to AAP Pediatric Leadership Alliance and Annual Leadership Forum, 2011

Mattel Toy Grant for CART, 2010

Albuquerque Top Docs, 2008, 2009, 2013, 2020

UNM Phase 2 Clinical Teaching Award, Honorable Mention, 2008

UNM Phase 2 Clinical Teaching Award, 2007

American Medical Women’s Association Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Achievement Citation, 2003

Outstanding Student in Psychiatry, Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine, 2003

Phi Beta Kappa, 1995

Key Publications

Strickler L, Pierce J. Factor VII Deficiency Presenting as Possible Child Abuse. Forensic Sci Med Path. 2015 Sept. 11(3):472-474.

Lopez-Bushnell K, et al. Shaken Baby Syndrome: A Hospital-Based Education and Prevention Program in the Intermediate Care and the Newborn Intensive Care Nurseries. Journal of Neonatal Nursing. 2017 June. 23(3):142-150.

Strickler L, Harjo J. Burns Due to the Application of Raw Garlic to the Feet as a Home Remedy for Fever. Pediatric Emergency Care. 2019 Dec. 35(12):e234-e235.

Feldman K, Tayama T, Strickler L, Johnson L, Kolhatkar G, DeRidder C, Matthews D, Sidbury R, Taylor J. A Prospective Study of the Causes of Pre-mobile Infant Bruises. Pediatric Emergency Care. 2020 Feb. 36(2):e43-e49.

Strickler L, Van-Dinh L, Torrez C, Williams J. Localized Coagulopathy of a Venous Malformation Involving the Labia as a Mimic of Child Sexual Abuse. Accepted for Publication 2020 Sept. in Clinical Pediatric Emergency Care.