Living Legend

Dr. Warren Heffron Honored for a Lifetime of Service by the UNM School of Medicine

The UNM School of Medicine Alumni Association has named Professor Emeritus Warren Heffron, MD, as its newest Living Legend.

Heffron was honored during the UNM Department of Family & Community Medicine’s 50th Anniversary Gala on Oct. 28 and at the UNM Lobo MD Reunion Alumni Awards Dinner on Oct. 29. A video commemorating his work and contributions will soon be available for viewing on the Alumni Association’s website.

Heffron is one of the Department of Family & Community Medicine’s founding faculty members. He also founded the School of Medicine’s Family Medicine residency and served as residency program director for 13 years. 

During his 53-year career at UNM, Dr. Heffron served as acting chair, interim chair and chair of the department on three different occasions. He was a prolific practicing physician, teacher, administrator and researcher whose contributions continue to benefit the School of Medicine and the people of New Mexico.

Heffron served as president of the American Board of Family Medicine, vice president of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) and president of the Christian Medical and Dental Associations in the USA. 

Closer to home, Dr. Heffron was president of the New Mexico Medical Society, residency consultant for the Residency Assistance Program of the AAFP, regional vice president for the Americas of the World Organization of Family Doctors, and a member of the Residency Review Committee for Family Medicine. 

He has been active in international residency and department consultations and has consulted for 64 programs in 23 different countries.

Dr. Heffron joins a prestigious group of UNM School of Medicine Living Legends, including:

  • Leonard M. Napolitano, MD (2009) Dean, UNM School of Medicine (1972-1994)
  • Robert Loftfield, PhD (2013) Professor of Biochemistry (1964-1989); Chair, Department of Biochemistry (1964-1971; 1978-1989)
  • Diane Klepper, MD (2014) Professor Emerita; Assistant/Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Affairs for 31 years
  • R. Philip Eaton, MD (2015) Emeritus Executive Vice President for Health Sciences and Professor
  • Arthur Kaufman, MD (2018) Distinguished Professor of Family & Community Medicine and Vice Chancellor for Community Health

The UNM School of Medicine Living Legend award recognizes exemplary leaders who have dedicated their lives to humanity and devoted their careers to the mission of the UNM School of Medicine.

Categories: Education, News You Can Use, School of Medicine, Top Stories