About Our Office

Leading the charge for a better New Mexico

At the UNM Health Sciences Center Office for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, we believe that our dimensions of difference unify us. Much like our beautiful New Mexico landscapes, the people we serve are all vastly different. Celebrating these differences and striving to be as diverse as the communities we serve is what our office is all about.

Whether you are a member of the UNM Health Sciences Center, or a community member, we are committed to serving you in all diversity, equity, and inclusion matters. Learn more about diversity at UNM HSC

Meet Vice Chancellor and Diversity & Inclusion Executive Officer Dr. Romero-Leggott & the DEI Team

Meet the advocates, leaders and experts who champion for diversity, equity and inclusion in health care at HSC and throughout New Mexico.

Meet the Team

Valerie Romero-Leggott, MD 
Vice Chancellor and Diversity & Inclusion Executive Officer  
vromero@salud.unm.edu

Brenda Pereda MD, MS 
SOM Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion 
brpereda@salud.unm.edu

Jessica Goodkind, PhD 
Associate Vice Chancellor for Co-Director of Cultural Competency 
JGoodkind@salud.unm.edu

Martha Muller, MD 
Leadership Director 
MLMuller@salud.unm.edu

Cameron Crandall, MD, PhD 
Director for LGBT Health Equity & Inclusion 
CCrandall@salud.unm.edu

Melissa Gonzales, PhD 
Associate Vice Chancellor for Evaluation and Research Director 
mgonzales@salud.unm.edu

Karissa Culbreath, PhD 
Associate Vice Chancellor for BOSS 
kculbreath@salud.unm.edu

Alisha Parada, MD 
Vice Chair of Diversity and Inclusion, Department of Internal Medicine 
aparada@salud.unm.edu

Lindsay Smart, PhD 
Associate Vice Chancellor for Leadership 
LSmart@salud.unm.edu

Lawrence Roybal, PhD 
Associate Vice Chancellor for Community Initiative 
lroybal@unm.edu

Jennifer Gomez-Chavez, EdD 
Special Assistant to the Associate Vice Chancellor For Community Initiatives 
Program Operations Director 
jengomez@unm.edu

Laura Arguelles
STEM-H Center Analyst/Web Designer
arua13l@unm.edu

Stacy Collier, MA
smcollier@salud.unm.edu

Erin Garcia, JD
Program Specialist STEM-H Center
scifair@unm.edu

Karen Kinsman, MS
Director of UNM STEM-H Center/Sr. Program Manager
kkinsman@unm.edu

Teresa Madrid, MPH
Director of Programs/Education & Outreach Manager
TMMadrid@salud.unm.edu

Luis Carlos Muñoz
Program Specialist
lcmunoz@salud.unm.edu

Octavio Muñoz, MBA
Program Manager
OMunoz1@salud.unm.edu

Amy Greene, MPA
Program Manager
amkgreene@salud.unm.edu

Nathan Ortiz, BA
Program Coordinator
NtOrtiz@salud.unm.edu

Steven J. Romero
Director of Operations/Sr. Business Manager
StJRomero@salud.unm.edu

Rosa Samudio
Program Coordinator
Rosamudio@salud.unm.edu

Roberta Zaya
Program Coordinator
RoZayas@salud.unm.edu

Group of students listening.

Our Strategic Goals

Explore how we promote our mission, vision and values. Download our strategic initiatives document now.