The Department of Cell Biology and Physiology is a basic science department within The University of New Mexico School of Medicine.
The department, established in 1997, focuses on the study of biological structure, fundamental cellular and physiological processes and their relationships to human disease. 

The divisions within the department include:

  • Cancer Cell Biology
  • Vascular Biology/Physiology
  • Medical and Graduate Education

Cardiovascular Research Training Program

This non-departmental program provides training for PhD students in biomedical sciences in the first year, followed by in-depth training in the chosen discipline in subsequent years. A training program with a concentration in cardiovascular physiology is available for all pre-doctoral CRTP trainees in the BSGP.