Skip to main content

Division of Vascular Surgery

The Division of Vascular Surgery was started in 1988, under the direction of chairman Donald Fry, MD, and James Kunkel, MD, the first division chief, started a new era in New Mexico, as patients could now obtain the expertise from a group of board-certified vascular surgeons, who were specially trained in vascular surgery, and whose practice was dedicated only to management of patients with vascular surgery problems. Today we remain the largest group in the state dedicated only to the practice of vascular surgery.

Meet our Faculty

Our vascular surgery practice is based at The University of New Mexico Hospital (UNMH), the tertiary referral hospital for New Mexico, and the state’s only Level I trauma center. Our hospital is also the main training site for the UNM School of Medicine. Teaching medical students and General Surgery Residency is an integral part of our mission in the Division of Vascular Surgery.

Our division is committed to the highest quality vascular surgery care for our patients. We are the only hospital in the state that provides board certified vascular surgeons for on-call vascular surgery care 24/7. In addition to our clinical expertise, we are dedicated educators as well, as evidenced by multiple teaching awards earned by our faculty.

We are also engaged in clinical and outcomes research. Our faculty members have the opportunity to participate in several types of research education programs at our medical school. The Masters in Clinical Research Program is one such program available for our faculty interested in developing translational research as a significant component of their academic career.