EMS Fellowship in Emergency Medicine

Our ACGME-accredited EMS Fellowship is designed to provide strong training for future EMS Physician leaders.  We offer a broad introduction to all aspects of EMS Medical Direction, EMS Research, EMS Policy, and Clinical Prehospital Medicine.  UNM EMS Fellows are active members in the UNM EMS Consortium Physician Field Response Program and work alongside UNM EMS Faculty as well as EMS providers from our many partner EMS agencies.  Our fellowship was fully accredited by the ACGME in 2013 with retroactive approval to October of 2012, and graduates are eligible to take the ABEM EMS Subspecialty Board Exam.  Our three fellowship positions enable EMS Fellows to pursue a specific interest of EMS within their fellowship. Our fellows have the unique opportunity to learn from 8 EMS board certified faculty, all with their own expertise within EMS. Fellows will have exposure to Urban EMS, Rural EMS, Air Medical Services, Search and Rescue, Wilderness and Austere Medicine, Tactical EMS, Event Medicine/ Mass Gathering and many more. We have had 20 fellows complete the program since accreditation and more prior to accreditation. 

One of the three fellowship positions focuses specifically on Rural & Tribal EMS, working closely with our new UNM Center for Rural and Tribal EMS. Rural EMS Fellows will have the opportunity to work closely with rural and frontier counties of New Mexico, tribal EMS agencies, and remote National Park Service agencies, including Grand Canyon National Park. The unique challenges of rural and austere EMS will be explored, including the development of extended care 911 protocols, community paramedicine strategies in remote locations, and approaches to austere and wilderness medical care. 


1. Albuquerque Fire Rescue, Kim Pruett
2. Albuquerque Mountain Rescue Council, Jenna White
3. American Medical Response (Bernalillo/Valencia), Joy Crook
4. Angel Fire Fire Department, Doug Dixon
5. Bernalillo County Fire Department, Chelsea White
6. Bernalillo County Sheriff’s Department, Drew Harrell
7. Cibola County Office of Emergency Management, Chelsea White
8. Cibola Search and Rescue, Jenna White
9. City of Grants, Chelsea White
10. Cochiti Fire and EMS, Jenna White
11. Corrales Fire Department, Darren Braude
12. Department of Health EMS Bureau, Joy Crook
13. Grand Canyon National Park, Drew Harrell
14. Grants Fire and Rescue, Chelsea White
15. Jemez Pueblo EMS, Jenna White
16. K&I, Drew Harrell
17. Lifeguard Air Emergency Services, Doug Dixon
18. Medcor, Darren Braude
19. Milan Volunteer Fire Department, Chelsea White
20. Motion Picture Set Medics, Darren Braude
21. New Mexico State Police, Drew Harrell
22. NM DMAT-1, Joy Crook
23. Pine Hill EMS, Chelsea White
24. Pueblo of Acoma EMS/Fire, Chelsea White
25. Pueblo of Laguna Fire Rescue, Chelsea White
26. QuickDraw, Darren Braude
27. Rio Rancho Fire Department, Darren Braude
28. Sandoval County Fire Department, Jenna White
29. Sandoval County Regional Emergency Communication Center, Jenna White
30. State of New Mexico EMS Bureau, Joy Crook
31. Taos County Fire/EMS and Taos Central Dispatch E-911, Doug Dixon
32. TóHajiilee Field Office of Navajo Nation EMS, Chelsea White
33. Town of Bernalillo Fire Department, Jenna White
34. UNM EMS Academy, Darren Braude
35. UNM Medicine Bow, Joy Crook
36. UNM Rapid Response Team, Doug Dixon
37. UNM Reach and Treat Team, Jenna White
38. UNM TEMS, Drew Harrell
39. USAF Pararescue Paramedic Training Program, Drew Harrell
40. Valencia County Fire Department, Doug Dixon
41. Valencia Regional Emergency Communications Center, Doug Dixon
42. Village of Cuba Fire Department, Jenna White
43. Village of Milan, Chelsea White
44. Village of Tijeras Fire Department, Jenna White
45. Western Refining Fire and EMS, Chelsea White
46. Wilderness Medics, Darren Braude

1. Albuquerque Ambulance Service (AAS)
2. Albuquerque Ambulance Service Critical Care Transport
3. Rio Rancho Police Department

Now accepting applications for our 2019-2020 EMS Fellowship! Contact .

EMS Fellowship Flyer
Rural EMS Fellowship Flyer