Emergency Medical Service Consortium


The UNM EMS Medical Direction Consortium or “The Consortium” as it is commonly known, brings together all the EMS resources within the University of New Mexico Department of Emergency Medicine EMS and Disaster Medicine Section. The consortium consists of our EMS Fellows and multiple EMS medical directors, each of whom also serves as a faculty member within the department. This partnership allows the EMS Medical Directors to collaborate, to share resources and share on-call responsibility. It also allows each participating agency to benefit from the collective expertise of all the EMS faculty members and fellows.

EMS services anywhere in New Mexico may contract with the UNM EMS Consortium. EMS services may elect to have the Consortium serve as their full-time medical director, or may choose to have the Consortium provide specific functions such as on-line medical direction, assistance with quality assurance, assistance with special skill development, or short-term medical direction coverage when the regular medical director is unavailable.  

The Consortium, in collaboration with the UNM EMS Academy, also sponsors the UNM Department of Emergency Medicine’s EMS Fellowship. This program provides a focused year of accredited, specialty training to board-certified/board eligible Emergency Physicians planning to become board-certified, career EMS Physicians.

EMS physicians from the Consortium are on-call and available to our partners 24-hours a day to assist with complicated on-line medical direction issues.   In addition, on-call EMS Consortium physicians are available for field response to assist affiliated EMS agencies with complicated clinical cases and mass casualty incidents, education and quality assurance.


1. Albuquerque Fire Rescue, Kim Pruett
2. Albuquerque Mountain Rescue Council, Jenna White
3. American Medical Response (Bernalillo/Valencia), Joy Crook
4. Angel Fire Fire Department, Doug Dixon
5. Bernalillo County Fire Department, Chelsea White
6. Bernalillo County Sheriff’s Department, Drew Harrell
7. Cibola County Office of Emergency Management, Chelsea White
8. Cibola Search and Rescue, Jenna White
9. City of Grants, Chelsea White
10. Cochiti Fire and EMS, Jenna White
11. Corrales Fire Department, Darren Braude
12. Department of Health EMS Bureau, Joy Crook
13. Grand Canyon National Park, Drew Harrell
14. Grants Fire and Rescue, Chelsea White
15. Jemez Pueblo EMS, Jenna White
16. K&I, Drew Harrell
17. Lifeguard Air Emergency Services, Doug Dixon
18. Medcor, Darren Braude
19. Milan Volunteer Fire Department, Chelsea White
20. Motion Picture Set Medics, Darren Braude
21. New Mexico State Police, Drew Harrell
22. NM DMAT-1, Joy Crook
23. Pine Hill EMS, Chelsea White
24. Pueblo of Acoma EMS/Fire, Chelsea White
25. Pueblo of Laguna Fire Rescue, Chelsea White
26. QuickDraw, Darren Braude
27. Rio Rancho Fire Department, Darren Braude
28. Sandoval County Fire Department, Jenna White
29. Sandoval County Regional Emergency Communication Center, Jenna White
30. State of New Mexico EMS Bureau, Joy Crook
31. Taos County Fire/EMS and Taos Central Dispatch E-911, Doug Dixon
32. TóHajiilee Field Office of Navajo Nation EMS, Chelsea White
33. Town of Bernalillo Fire Department, Jenna White
34. UNM EMS Academy, Darren Braude
35. UNM Medicine Bow, Joy Crook
36. UNM Rapid Response Team, Doug Dixon
37. UNM Reach and Treat Team, Jenna White
38. UNM TEMS, Drew Harrell
39. USAF Pararescue Paramedic Training Program, Drew Harrell
40. Valencia County Fire Department, Doug Dixon
41. Valencia Regional Emergency Communications Center, Doug Dixon
42. Village of Cuba Fire Department, Jenna White
43. Village of Milan, Chelsea White
44. Village of Tijeras Fire Department, Jenna White
45. Western Refining Fire and EMS, Chelsea White
46. Wilderness Medics, Darren Braude

1. Albuquerque Ambulance Service (AAS)
2. Albuquerque Ambulance Service Critical Care Transport
3. Rio Rancho Police Department

EMS Fellowship in Emergency Medicine

Our ACGME-accredited EMS Fellowship is designed to provide strong training for future EMS Physician leaders.  We offer a broad introduction to all aspects of EMS Medical Direction, EMS Research, EMS Policy, and Clinical Prehospital Medicine.