NMARC Seminars – Fall 2023 

“Treatments for Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders” 
Jennifer Thomas, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, San Diego State University 
Thursday October 26, 2023 

“Behavioral interventions to mitigate the effects of developmental alcohol exposure on brain grey and white matter” 
Anna Klintsova, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, University of Delaware 
Thursday November 16 2023 
New Mexico Alcohol Research Center 

1 University of New Mexico 
Albuquerque, NM  87131 

New Mexico Alcohol Research Center

1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

NMARC Advisory Boards

NMARC (Internal) Steering Committee

Vincent Clark, Ph.D., is a Professor of Psychology at UNM, Professor of Translational Neuroscience at the MIND Research Network, and the Director of the Psychology Clinical Neuroscience Center at UNM.  Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Neurosciences, and is the President of the MIND Research Network.  His research interests include the use of a variety of neuroimaging modalities combined with different transcranial stimulation techniques to study and treat a range of neurologic and psychiatric disorders including alcoholism and substance abuse, chronic pain, schizophrenia, psychopathy and Parkinson’s Disease.

Corey Ford, M.D.,Ph.D. is a Professor and Vice-Chair for Research in the Department of Neurology and he also serves as the Senior Associate Dean of Research at the UNM School of Medicine, as well as the Executive Leadership Committee for the UNM’s Clinical & Translational Science Center.  Dr. Ford has more than two decades of experience leading clinical trials on drugs for treating multiple sclerosis and he collaborates with Sandia National Laboratory scientists on studies of blast and blunt force trauma in veterans.

Marcia Moriarta, Ph.D. is a Professor of Pediatrics and Psychiatry & Behavioral Health Sciences, and serves as the Executive and Clinical Director of the Center for Development and Disability (CDD).  She is trained as a clinical psychologist with expertise in interdisciplinary evaluation, neurodevelopmental disorders, community engagement, child-family psychology, maternal-child mental health and children/families impacted by substance use disorders.  She provides direct support and supervision of the FASD Clinic and was instrumental in managing the clinic’s leadership transition with the retirement of the former directors. 

William Shuttleworth, is a Regents’ Professor & Chair of the Department of Neurosciences and PI & Center Director of UNM’s Center for Brain Recovery and Repair, a NIGMS-sponsored Center on Biomedical Research Excellence (CoBRE).  He has served as the Director of the Brain & Behavioral Health Institute, whose focus has been to build a platform for collaborative basic, clinical and community outreach research on neurologic and behavioral health issues.  His research interests include preclinical and clinical studies on the impact of traumatic brain injury and other neurological insults in causing spreading depolarizations, with a focus on understanding the cellular physiological mechanism that underlie SDs.

NMARC (External) Program Advisory Committee (PAC)

Edward Riley, Ph.D. is a Distinguished Professor of Psychology and the Director of the Center for Behavioral Teratology at San Diego State University.  Dr. Riley is internationally renowned for his fetal alcohol research both in rodents and human studies of behavior and neuroimaging.  He is a past President of the International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism, former President of the Research Society on Alcoholism (RSA), a recipient of RSA’s Distinguished Researcher Award and a recipient of the Henry Rosett Award for excellence in FASD research.  He chairs or serves on numerous advisory and editorial boards for FASD research.  Dr. Riley chairs the NMARC Program Advisory Committee.

Claire Coles, Ph.D., is a Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry, Behavioral Sciences and Pediatrics at Emory University.  She also directs the Maternal Substance Abuse and Child Development Project and the Fetal Alcohol Program at the Marcus Institute.  Dr. Coles is widely recognized for her work on neurobehavioral assessment, and educational and other interventional outcomes research on FASD.  She is a recipient of the Henry Rosett Award for excellence in FASD research.  She has served on a variety of advisory boards including NIAAA’s National Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Task Force and CDC’s National Center for Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities.

Charles Goodlett, Ph.D. is a Professor of Psychology and former Head of the Psychobiology of Addictions program at Indiana University - Purdue University of Indiana.  Dr. Goodlett is a widely recognized leader in research on the impact of perinatal ethanol exposure on the development and function of cerebellum.  Dr. Goodlett is a former President of the FASD Study group.  He recently served as Editor-in-Chief of Alcohol, and has served as a permanent member of the ALTX-3 and AA-4 study sections, as well as on more than a half dozen special review and advisory panels for the NIAAA.  He was the 2016 recipient of the Henry Rosett Award for excellence in FASD research. 

John Hannigan, Ph.D. is a Professor of Psychology and Obstetrics & Gynecology and Deputy Director of the Skillman Institute for Child and Family Development at Wayne State University.  His research spans preclinical and clinical investigations of the effects of ethanol and other teratogenic substances on the mechanisms that subserve cognitive function.  He is a former President of the FASD Study Group and serves on numerous editorial and scientific advisory boards.  He was the 2017 recipient of the Henry Rosett Award for excellence in FASD research. 

Rajesh Miranda, Ph.D. is a Professor of Human Anatomy & Medical Neurobiology at Texas A & M University.  He is an expert on the effects of ethanol on neural stem cell programming, microRNA expression and ultrasound measures of fetal blood flow in animal models of prenatal ethanol exposure.  He is a Past-President of the FASD Study Group and has served as a permanent member of the NAL and AA-4 study sections. 

Joanne Weinberg, Ph.D. is Professor and Distinguished University Scholar of Cellular & Physiological Sciences at the University of British Columbia.  She is internationally renowned for her preclinical research on the impact of prenatal ethanol exposure on stress responses and the neural regulation of endocrine and immunologic systems.  She is a former President of the FASD Study Group, a recipient of the Rosett Award for excellence in FASD research, and has served on four editorial boards and as a member of numerous scientific advisory boards related to FASD research. 

Hermes Yeh, Ph.D. is a Professor and former Chair of Physiology & Neurobiology at Dartmouth University.  Dr. Yeh is an expert on the impact of ethanol on neurotransmitter receptor interactions and synaptic plasticity and, notably, has observed how ethanol affects migratory GABAergic interneurons during neurodevelopment.  He has chaired the Society for Neurosciences’ Neuroscience Departments & Programs committee and has served on numerous NIH study sections and special emphasis panels and other scientific advisory boards.