HSC Research Leadership

Richard S. Larson, MD, PhD
Executive Vice Chancellor
Vice Chancellor for Research
UNM Health Sciences

Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Margaret Hart
Administrative Contact
Email: mmhart@salud.unm.edu


Corey Ford, MD, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Research, SOM

K.J. "Jim" Liu, PhD
Associate Dean for Research, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Mark Parshall, PhD, RN
Interim Research Chair, College of Nursing



Department Contact
HSC Office of Research

James MacFarlane, MPH
Executive Director
Phone: 505-272-1147
Email: jmacfarlane@salud.unm.edu

Josh Smith
Administrative Contact
Email: jolsmith@salud.unm.edu

Michelle Parra, MBA
Financial Officer 
Email: mmparra@salud.unm.edu

Jennifer Sanchez, MA
Operations Manager

Compliance and safety

Department Contact


Timothy Muller, MS, CBSP
University biosafety officer

Chemical Safety

Research specialist/lab, lab safety specialist

Conflicts of Interest

Marie Barron, MA
Operations manager

Export Control

Timothy Muller, MS, CBSP
HSC Export control manager


Karen Capobianco

Human Research Protections

Hadya Khawaja, MS, CIP
HSC HRPP director


Katy Mirowsky-Garcia, MS, CPIA
Operations manager

Radiation Safety

Radiation safety officer

Research Integrity



Other services

Department Contact
Sponsored Projects Office Stacy Catanach
Associate director
Contract and Grant Accounting Mike Schwantes
Chief financial services officer
UNM Rainforest Innovations
(formerly STC.UNM)

Elizabeth (Lisa) J. Kuuttila
CEO and chief economic development officer