Human Research Protections Program

Hadya Khawaja, MS, CIP
UNM Health Sciences HRPP director
Email: hkhawaja@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-9145

IRB submissions

Brad M. Dolin, BA, JD
UNM Health Sciences IRB manager
Email: bdolin@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-0772

Rochelle Garcia, BA
IRB coordinator (pre-review)
Email: rorgarcia@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-5624

Vacant position
IRB coordinator (pre-review)
Email: 
Phone: 

Christina Gallegos
IRB coordinator (post-review)
Email: cmgallegos@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-5203

Tanya Silva
IRB coordinator (sIRB/reliances)
Email: tlsilva@salud.unm.edu 
Phone: 505-925-7414

IRB submission help

Sarah Targownik, LMSW, CIP
Education and outreach manager
Email: stargownik@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-0949

IRB review

Thomas Byrd, MD
UNM Health Sciences IRB executive chair

Walter Dehority, MD
UNM Health Sciences IRB chair

Susan Kunkel, PharmD
UNM Health Sciences IRB chair

Quality assurance and improvement

Ernestine Frank, BS
QA/QI manager
Email: erfrank@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-6765

Andrea McDonald
IRB coordinator (QA/QI)
Email: aemcdonald@salud.unm.edu 
Phone: 505-272-1129

Support

Vanessa Tan, MA
IRB/COI system administrator
Email: hsc-clicksupport@salud.unm.edu 
Phone: 505-272-8121

Felicia Chavez, BA
HRPO administrative assistant III
Email: felchavez@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-1129