Honoring our Alumni

UNM College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award

The University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy’s Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor the College bestows to our alumni. Each year since 1985, we have presented this award to a distinguished alumnus/a, with an outstanding record of achievement in professional practice, service and/or research. Distinguished Alumni demonstrate the highest ideals of professionalism, as well as an extraordinary commitment to pharmaceutical care and/or research. Professional practice, service and/or research within the profession of pharmacy are the primary considerations when reviewing nominees. View a full list of our Distinguished Alumni [PDF].


2020 Distinguished Alumnus Awardee


Mona N. Ghattas (BSPh, 1984)

A consummate entrepreneur, dedicated pharmacist and pillar of the Albuquerque business community - these are just a few of the things one could label Mona Ghattas, RPh (BS Pharm ’84).

Mona knows a lot about bringing people together to transform their community. For the past several years she has been putting her business acumen and love for Albuquerque to work revitalizing the “West Downtown” area through community re-branding initiatives. Mona’s forward thinking business and retail strategies at Duran’s - a lynch pin business of West Downtown - have helped the landmark pharmacy/shop/eatery not only survive tumultuous economic times but also thrive.

Mona has a long history of service to the profession through the National Community Pharmacists Association and she is the current president of the New Mexico Pharmacists Association. She also currently serves as a board member of the Independent Pharmacy Cooperative and as a UNM College of Pharmacy volunteer faculty preceptor in the advanced community pharmacy setting.

UNM College of Pharmacy Emerging Leader Alumni Award

The Emerging Leader award recognizes alumni who have graduated within the past 10 years and who are already establishing an outstanding record of achievement in professional practice, service and/or research. They are emerging leaders in their community or profession, acting as role models for the next generation of pharmacists.

2020 Emerging Leader Awardee

Adriane Irwin, 2020 Emerging Leader Award Recipient


Adriane N. Irwin, (PharmD, 2010)

Dr. Irwin received her Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry & Biophysics from Oregon State University and both a Master of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences and Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy. Subsequently, she completed a pharmacy practice residency at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center and a fellowship in ambulatory care & practice-based research at Kaiser Permanente Colorado. She is board-certified ambulatory care specialist and certified diabetes educator.

Dr. Irwin is active in professional organizations at the local, state, and national level. She is a former Trustee of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and National President of the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists. Recent involvement has focused research opportunities for pharmacist and includes serving as the Chair for the ACCP Ambulatory Care Research & Scholarship Committee (2014 – 2015) and participation on the ACCP Taskforce for Collaborative Research Opportunities (2015 – 2016) and AACP Pharmacy Practice SIG Research Committee (2016 – current).

Past Emerging Leader Award Recipients

  • 2015: Dr. Traci White, class of 2006
  • 2016: Dr. Gretchen M. Ray, class of 2006
  • 2017: Dr. Kimberly Neff, class of 2009
  • 2018: Dr. Melissa Skelton Duke, class of 2008
  • 2019: Dr. Jessica Conklin, class of 2011