Skip to main content

Honoring Our Alumni

UNM College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award

The University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy’s Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor the College bestows to our alumni. Each year since 1985, we have presented this award to a distinguished alumnus/a, with an outstanding record of achievement in professional practice, service and/or research. Distinguished Alumni demonstrate the highest ideals of professionalism, as well as an extraordinary commitment to pharmaceutical care and/or research. Professional practice, service and/or research within the profession of pharmacy are the primary considerations when reviewing nominees. View a full list of our Distinguished Alumni [PDF].

Meet Our 2017 Distinguished Alumnus

Greg D’Amour, PharmD
Bachelor of Science, class of 1978; Doctor of Pharmacy, class of 2003

A double alumnus of the College, Dr. Greg D’Amour has focused his career on geriatrics and chronic disease management. Since 1988, he has served as the director of pharmacy at the New Mexico State Veterans’ Home in Truth or Consequences, and he strives on a daily basis to improve the quality of life for all of his patients.

Greg’s commitment to his patients is only rivaled by his commitment to his community. Being a part of a team is not only why he chose pharmacy as a profession, but also why he has enjoyed his career and volunteer roles. He serves on the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy’s Pharmacist Credentialing Committee, which he has chaired since 2002. Greg also serves on numerous professional and community boards, councils and community service organizations at the local, state and national levels.

Greg was honored with the 2003 NM Pharmacists Association Bowl of Hygeia award and the 2006 Innovative Pharmacy Practice award. In 2006 he received the NM Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists Dorothy Dillon Memorial Lecture award and the Commission for Certification Geriatric Pharmacy’s Excellence in Geriatric Pharmacy Practice award. In 2014, he was recognized as the UNM College of Pharmacy’s Preceptor of the Year.

His words of advice to current and future pharmacists: “Have fun!”

UNM College of Pharmacy Emerging Leader Alumni Award

The Emerging Leader award recognizes alumni who have graduated within the past 10 years and who are already establishing an outstanding record of achievement in professional practice, service and/or research. They are emerging leaders in their community or profession, acting as role models for the next generation of pharmacists.

Meet Our 2017 Emerging Leader

Kimberly Neff, PharmD, PhC
Doctor of Pharmacy, class of 2009

Kim Neff seizes opportunities that her profession provides to positively impact people’s lives by developing personal connections. She may joke that her weak stomach kept her from being a nurse or a doctor instead of a pharmacist. But her desire to make a meaningful difference in people lives matters deeply to her – and it shows through her work.

A certified pharmacist clinician, Kim approaches her work as a clinical pharmacy specialist at the New Mexico VA Health Care System (NMVAHCS) with a dedication to her patients that inspires the pharmacy residents under her guidance and mentorship. Kim is an ASHP-certified preceptor for the PGY1 Pharmacy Residency program at the NMVAHCS, as well as a mentor for PGY1 residents in the same program. These residents often describe Kim as being unparalleled in her ability to connect with her patients.

Kim is also just as dedicated to serving her profession. She is a past-president of New Mexico Society of Health-System Pharmacists and is a member of the Residency Advisory Board for the PGY1 Residency Program. She is a member of the New Mexico Pharmaceutical Care Foundation Board and the UNM College of Pharmacy’s New Alumni Council. In 2014, Pharmacist Mutual presented Kim with the Distinguished Young Pharmacist award for her unending commitment to her profession.

Past Emerging Leader Award Recipients:

  • 2015: Traci White, class of 2006
  • 2016: Gretchen M. Ray, class of 2006
  • 2017: Kimberly Neff, class of 2009