Talented researchers, talented mentors

Leadership

Matthew Campen, Ph.D., MSPH
Center Director
Regents’ Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
College of Pharmacy
MCampen@salud.unm.edu

Jim Liu, Ph.D.
Associate Center Director
Associate Dean of Research
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
College of Pharmacy
KLiu@salud.unm.edu

Laurie Hudson, Ph.D.
Director of Career Development
Regents’ Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
College of Pharmacy
Lhudson@salud.unm.edu

Changjian (Jim) Feng, Ph.D. 
Integrated Molecular Analysis Core Director
Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
College of Pharmacy
cfeng@salud.unm.edu

Yiliang Zhu, Ph.D.
Biostatistics Core Director
Professor
UNM School of Medicine
YiZhu@salud.unm.edu

Current Mentored PIs

Alicia Bolt, Ph.D.
Mentored PI
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
College of Pharmacy
Ambolt@salud.unm.edu

Rama Gullapalli, MD
Mentored PI
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology
rgullapalli@salud.unm.edu

Xiang Xue, Ph.D. 
Mentored PI
Assistant Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
xxue@salud.unm.edu

Xixi Zhou, Ph.D.
Mentored PI
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
College of Pharmacy
XZhou@salud.unm.edu

Mentors

Steve Belinsky, Ph.D.
Senior scientist and Vice-President of Academic Research
Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute
Mentoring: Zhou, Project II

Jennifer Gillette Ph.D. 
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
JGillette@salud.unm.edu
Mentoring: Bolt, Project I

Olga Kovbasnjuk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
University of New Mexico
OKovbasnjuk@salud.unm.edu
Mentoring: Xue, Project III

Henry Lin, Ph.D.
Chief of Medicine at the New Mexico Veterans Affairs Health Care System
Raymond G. Murphy Medical Center Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
University of New Mexico
heLin@salud.unm.edu
Mentoring: Xue, Project III

Angela Wandinger-Ness, Ph.D.
Victor and Ruby Hansen Surface Endowed Professor in Cancer Cell Biology and Clinical Translation
Vice Chair for Research,
Department of Pathology
University of New Mexico
AWandinger@salud.unm.edu
Mentoring: Gullapalli, Project IV

Eric Prossnitz, Ph.D. 
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine Chief, Division of Molecular Medicine
Victor and Ruby Hansen Surface Endowed Professor in Cancer Chemical Biology
EProssnitz@salud.unm.edu
Mentoring: Bolt, Project I; Gullapalli, Project IV

Alan Tomkinson, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Basic Research,
UNM Comprehensive Cancer Center
Vice Chief of the Department of Internal Medicine
ATomkinson@salud.unm.edu
Mentoring: Zhou, Project II

Internal Advisory Committee

Barry Bleske, Pharm.D.
Chair, Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences
BBleske@salud.unm.edu

Adrian Brearley, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences
brearly@unm.edu

Scott Burchiel, Ph.D.
Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
SBurchiel@salud.unm.edu

Judy Cannon, Ph.D.
Professor, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
JuCannon@salud.unm.edu

Vojo Deretic, Ph.D.
Chair, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Director, Autophagy, Inflammation and Metabolism COBRE
vderetic@salud.unm.edu

Johnnye Lewis, Ph.D.
Director, Community Environmental Health Program
jlewis@cybermesa.com

Karlett Parra, Ph.D.
Chair, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
KJParra@salud.unm.edu

Bill Shuttleworth, Ph.D.
Director, Brain and Behavioral Health Initiative
Director, Brain Recovery and Repair COBRE
Bshuttleworth@salud.unm.edu

Akshay Sood, M.D.
Professor of Pulmonary Medicine, Miners' Colfax Medical Center
Endowed Chair in Mining-Related Lung Disease
ASood@salud.unm.edu

External Advisory Committee

Hector Olvera Alvarez, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Associate Dean for Research,
School of Nursing
Oregon Health & Science University

Rebecca Fry, Ph.D.
Carol Remmer Angle Distinguished Professor in Children’s Environmental Health
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering
University of North Carolina School of Public Health

Bernardo Lemos, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Environmental Epigenetics
Department of Environmental Health
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Donna Zhang, Ph.D. 
Musil Family Endowed Chair in Drug Discovery
Associate Director of Superfund Research Program
Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology
University of Arizona Health Sciences

Staff

Jesse Denson Hesch, Ph.D.
Scientific Communications Director
jdenson@salud.unm.edu

Ting Jiang, Ph.D. 
IMAC Research Science Manager
Beginning January 2021

Yuheng 'Helen' Liang, MAcc
Accountant
YLiang@salud.unm.edu

Pavan Muttil, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Exposure Generation Facility Manager
pmuttil@salud.unm.edu

Andy Ortegon, MBA
Program Manager
aortegon@salud.unm.edu